lucky bandit | RVA based lifestyle blog: product review
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts

Monday, March 23, 2020

empties #21

Another post about my trash! It's been a while, so I've used up a lot. I recycled all I can through TerracycleI've labeled what I can find that isn't cruelty free, but always do your own research!
Murad Essentials-C Cleanser// This was a good cleanser! Light and refreshing. I'd buy it again.

Pacifica Cactus Water Micellar Cleanser // I love Pacifica products and this one didn't disappoint. If I hadn't had some makeup removers given to me by my mom, I'd definitely buy this one again.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion* // This is the best eyeshadow primer I've tried thus far. I'll keep buying this.

NYX XXL Lush Lashes Mascara // I liked this mascara. It didn't flake and I could build it nicely. I'd repurchase!

Nourish California Mango Extreme Body Creme // cruelty free status unknown // When I bought this I could find the brand and verify, but I can't any longer. It was a very hydrating lotion!

Shea Moisture Coconut Water Vegan Lip Balm // You'll see two different tubes of this in this post. BOTH tubes stopped distributing lip balm! After a couple uses it just clogged up and no more would come out, so I bought the second tube shown. Same thing. I liked what I could actually use, but I'll skip this from now on due to the packaging.

Skinfood Pineapple Peeling Gel // not cruelty free // I bought this on a whim and it worked really well, though not only is it discontinued, it's also not cf. Luckily, I found the elf Gentle Peeling Exfoliant and it works just as well and it's cheaper.

Vaseline Lip Therapy in Cocoa Butter // not cruelty free // My lips have been chronically chapped for a few months and I tried almost every lip balm I could get my hands on. Unfortunately, this was the one that actually helped. Even though it's not cf, I'm going to keep buying it because my lips are so bad.

Tresemme Volumizing Dry Shampoo // not cruelty free // I got this in a Christmas basket. It wasn't a bad dry shampoo! I'd buy it again if Tresemme went cf.

Desert Essence Lip Rescue Ultra Rescue Shea Butter* // This lip balm helped for a while and I'd definitely suggest this for mildly chapped lips. I had an extreme case, but it helped me in the beginning! I'd buy it again.
Pacifica Cactus Revive Face Wash // Slightly drying, but I still liked it. I'd try it again on sale, but I'd opt for a different Pacifica face wash next time.

Pacifica Hawaiian Ruby Guava Body Butter // This came in a set that my mom gave me. This is my favorite body butter scent and I'd 100% get it again!

Mary Kay Satin Body Wash // not cruelty free // This lathered really well and smelled nice, but I don't buy from MLMs.

Nip+Fab Smooth Viper Venom Micro Blur Fix // I'm so, so, so sad this was discontinued. I've had this tube for a couple years now and I used it almost daily as a primer. It was AMAZING as a primer. Controlled oil, makeup didn't budge. I've sadly run out and I can't find it anywhere.

elf Acne Fighting Gel // I tried valiantly to use this up, but it just didn't work well enough for me to keep using it.

Dr. Bronner's Peppermint Toothpaste* // I liked this! I grabbed it for a trip. It was minty and my teeth felt clean. I'd repurchase.
Covergirl Clean Matte BB Creamin Light/Medium // Covergirl finally went cruelty free. This is my second tube of this. This is very close to my color and it's worked very well for me. I'd definitely rebuy!

Clean & Clear Lemon Zesty Scrub // not cruelty free // I got this for Christmas and I love getting scrubs! It's not cf but it did it's job!

Biore Charcoal Micellar Water // not cruelty free // This came in a subscription box. It was okay. It was less micellar water and more just makeup remover, but it worked. I wouldn't buy it.

elf Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter Duo // Good grief, I've had this for what feels like ten years. It didn't blend well and I never used the highlighter because it was like spreading glitter on my face. I wouldn't repurchase.

LA Girl Pro Face Powderin Classic Ivory GPP60Z // This powder was great, blended well, covered well, until it fell down the sink side four inches and decided to shatter. I'd buy this again! I just wish it came without the pouf, which was added waste for me.
 None of these samples are cruelty free, so I wouldn't repurchase any or really go into detail.
Some more samples! I don't think I'd repurchase any of these, either. I do want to note that the Clinique sample could possibly be the worst packaged sample of all time.
I've already cleaned these wands to be sent for Wands for Wildlife in October!

Doucce Mascara // cruelty free status unknown // I got this in an Ipsy box and I literally spent the entire time I used this thinking I had Marc Jacobs mascara for some reason?? I have no idea why. It was a decent mascara and I'd buy it again if I could verify if it was cruelty free.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara* // This is my favorite mascara, hands down. Would definitely repurchase.
Makeup Wipe Haul // This is the haul I get from Kyle when he comes home from the road. He's not greedy (i.e. when he arrives at a hotel (for 3-7 days) he gets the first day's toiletries but never asks for more), but he still gets a lot. LA Fresh* (the wipes on the right) ARE cruelty free!

So there's another few months! I've decided that 2020 is the year I pare down my products, so I only buy after I've used something up. We'll see how it goes.


Follow

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari
lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*



Follow

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari
lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

review // e.l.f. gentle peeling exfoliant

I recently used up all of my Skinfood Pineapple Peeling Gel and I was looking for something I could pick up locally. I had a 20% off Ulta coupon so I stopped in one day while running errands. I came across the Gentle Peeling Exfoliant from e.l.f. and thought I'd give it a try. At a $10 pricepoint with 20% off I snagged this for a song.

It has a nice creamy texture and it works great! I don't particularly like the residue and bits that seem to always be left behind with scrubs so this works perfectly for me. It takes almost no time at all. I just use it in the shower after I clean my face and it sloughs off dead skin almost instantly. I haven't encountered any redness or irritation and was quite surprised at how much dead skin it removed!

If you're looking for a cheap, easy to find chemical exfoliant, this one is a good bet.


Follow

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari
lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Thursday, July 25, 2019

empties #20

Another post about my trash! I've (thankfully) used up a lot of products! I have way too many floating around and I'm happy to get these out of here. I've labeled what I can find that isn't cruelty free, but always do your own research!
Mario Badescu Oil Free Moisturizer // This just seemed like a kind of average moisturizer to me, but I'd likely buy it if I caught it on sale.

Hempz Original Herbal Body Wash LE* // I love love love this product. This packaging is limited edition, but without it I would never have known that their original scent is BANANA! My favorite!

Pacifica Hawaiian Banana Lip Balm* // Y'all, this stuff melts so fast. Since it's not in a traditional balm tube, it'll melt to the sides of the container and quickly become ruined. Not o fear, I had a spare.

Not Your Mother's Beach Babe Texturizing Dry Shampoo* // I enjoyed this dry shampoo and would definitely buy it again. No white residue, and it lasted forever! 

Lacura Hydrating Facial Cleanser // I picked this up at Aldi. I really liked it and would definitely buy it again.

Sun Bum Cocobalm* // This died a hot car death. We LOVE Sun Bum, so I'll definitely repurchase.

Sugar and Spruce (formerly Ladyburg) Charcoal Mask // I got this years ago from a local shop in the city where I used to work. It was a nice mask, but it stung my eyes a bit.

Pixi Glow Tonic* // I received this in an ipsy* bag. I'm terrible about using toner regularly, so I didn't feel like I got the most out of this. I'd pick it up if I found it on sale.
B&BW Creamy Pumpkin Hand Sanitizer // not cruelty free // I've had this for a while, if you couldn't tell by the old packaging.

Templespa Quietude Calming Mist // cruelty free status unknown // Kyle brought this home from a hotel. He didn't like the scent and I can't smell, so I just sprayed this when he was gone to use it up, haha.

Mary Kay Paint the Sky Body Wash // not cruelty free // I received this as a Christmas gift. It lathered nicely and didn't dry my skin out, but isn't cruelty free.

B&BW White Citrus Oil Mist // not cruelty free // I worked so hard to use this up. I've had it for years. It was okay, I just don't like how oil feels on my skin.

Hello Activated Charcoal Toothpaste // I got this in a Walmart Beauty Box. NOPE. NOPE. NOPE. I got SO TIRED of wiping down my sink twice a day because this toothpaste was black. It did it's job as a toothpaste, but I don't need to see it all over the sink every day. And then DAMN if I didn't get ANOTHER in a later box.

B&BW Forever Red Fine Fragrance Mist // not cruelty free // Another product I've had for years. This lived in my car as a refresher. I'm glad to see it go and will not be replacing it.

Suave Deodorant in Tropical Paradise // not cruelty free // This may be the one item that I routinely buy that's not cruelty free. It's the only deodorant that seems to work for me, and my mom has used it for years as well.
Difeel Hand Moisturizer in Jasmine // This was a nice hand cream, but the container broke near the threading and would leak lotion out of the side. I probably won't pick up another.

Essence All About Matt! Powder // I've purchased two of these over time and both have had the lid of the container separate from the pan. I will not buy another for this reason. It's decent powder, though!

Sally Beauty Eyeshadow Single in Espresso // not cruelty free // This is another item I've had for years. I picked it up really cheaply before I went CF, and it was a nice color. I won't be replacing, though.

Covergirl Perfect Point Plus Eye Pencil in Espresso // I believe I received this in a box or something before Covergirl went CF, but of course now they are, so I would likely purchase this again. This one just fell apart on me.

Marc Jacobs Daisy Dream Perfume Sample // not cruelty free // It's perfume. Meh.

Guerlain Perfume Sample // not cruelty free // I'm really not a fan of getting perfume samples.
 
Samples! I liked the Burt's Bees towelettes* and the Moisturizing Lip Mask*. They were refreshing. The 100% Pure Kelp & Mint Shampoo* was a great sample and left a nice tingle on my scalp. I won't be repurchasing the Aromatherapy Shower Tablets* as they didn't really do much, and the it Cosmetics Confidence in a Cleanser* didn't wow me. The Olay Daily Facials (not cruelty free) is a nice concept, but messy, and the Olay Deep Hydrating Eye Gel (not cruelty free) wasn't impressive. I liked the Farmacy Green Clean Cleanser*, but the packaging of the sample wasn't great and it's kind of pricey for me. The worst thing in this photo, though, was the Clinique Fresh Pressed Overnight Booster (not cruelty free). The packaging required you to break it and mix the product similarly to a freaking glowstick, and I didn't have the hand strength to get enough product out of the stupid pod to put on my face.
These are all of the little makeup wipes that Kyle brought me from his hotel travels. They save quite a bit of money! LA Fresh is cruelty free, but the four packets in front are not cruelty free.

I love reading empties posts, so send me yours! ♥


Follow

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari
lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

empties #19

It's taken me a little to gather up some empties and then I realized that I had a bunch. But here we go! As usual, I'll only be labeling the products that are not cruelty free, but always double check as I can make mistakes.
Soapbox Argan Oil Shampoo // This is the older packaging, so it's really really old. It still worked nicely up until I finally used it up, though! I like that Soapbox donates a bar of soap every time something is purchased, so I'd definitely get this again.

St. Ives Apricot Scrub // not cruelty free // I got this for Christmas. I know this is bad for your face, but it exfoliates so well. Since it's not cf I won't pick it up myself, but I'm always thankful for gifts like this.

e.lf. Hydrating Face Primer* // You get a tiny amount of product in these little containers, but they're cheap and work fairly well. I pick them up when I see them at Marshall's and TJMaxx.

Skin & Co Roma Anti-Aging Serum // cruelty free status unknown // I think I got this in a Walmart beauty box or with an Ulta order. This little sample was nice, but I didn't see how it did much for my skin.

Greenman Gardens CBD Oil // cruelty free // This was my first foray into cbd oil. I'd get this again.

The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA // I didn't really like the cakey consistency of this moisturizer, but it did it's job. I'm not sure I'd get it again, though.
Some hotel samples Kyle picked up during his season.This year I've told him to only pick up the brand name items like Paul Mitchell, since they're cruelty free.
e.l.f. BB Cream* // I don't remember which shade I picked up of this, likely the lightest. I loved using this for a quick face on days I'm running behind because it blends easily and doesn't oxidize quickly.

Estee Lauder Eyeshadow Single in Cinnamon // not cruelty free // This was one of my favorite shades that I've probably held on to for years. I dropped it on the sink and it split right before panning it, so I pushed the pieces back in and used it until it was powder. I have yet to find a true dupe for this and the color has been discontinued (even though I wouldn't buy it because it's not cruelty free), but I'll keep searching.

Revlon Colorstay Shadow Stick in Atomic // not cruelty free // I've had this for WAY too long. I tried using it up, even slapping it on as a primer (which actually worked well?), but I just got sick of it and threw it in my empties box. The taupe side was a nice shimmery shade, and the other side was a sage green that didn't really work for me. Revlon isn't cruelty free, so I won't rebuy.
B&BW Body Mist in Paris Amour // not cruelty free // I received this for Christmas years ago. I used in my car as a little refresher.

B&BW Hand Cream in Witch Please // not cruelty free // Kyle got this for me because he says I'm a witch (and not the cool kind - *eye roll*). I kept this on my desk and it was a nice hand cream.
J.Lo Miami Glow Perfume // cruelty free status unknown // I've had this bottle for years and I love this scent. I'd totally get it again if I could find out if J.Lo's line was cruelty free.

Estee Lauder Pleasures Perfume // not cruelty free // I wore this to use it up because I've had this one even longer than the Miami Glow. I got a lot of compliments on it, but sadly EL isn't cruelty free.
Samples! I've received so many of these lately it seems like. I'll just run through them quickly. I liked the 100% Pure Kelp & Mint Shampoo*, but those packets were so hard to open. I keep getting the Clinique (not cruelty free) moisturizers and don't really care for them but don't want to waste them. I liked the Ulta Makeup Remover Wipes* and would repurchase. I think the Nivea Aloe Vera Lotion (not cruelty free) sample came from a magazine and it was mediocre, and the Olay Daily Facials Wipe (not cruelty free) worked well but tests on animals. The Sephora Cleansing Cream (not cruelty free) came in an order and was just okay. The big hit here, though, was the Bliss Makeup Melt*, which worked SO WELL with removing my eye makeup! I'm definitely going to order some of that.

So there's another pile of my trash. What have you used up lately?


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

review // Maple Holistics Silk18 shampoo

**I was compensated for this post by receiving a free product to review from Maple Holistics. This review is my own honest opinion.

I recently received a bottle of Maple Holistics' Silk18 Shampoo and was so excited to try it out! I've received product from them before and really liked the tea tree shampoo, so when they contacted me about their Silk18, I jumped at the chance.

This shampoo is said to achieve stronger, smoother, more luscious hair with the help of 18 silk amino acids and oils such as argan and jojoba. It's cruelty free and paraben and sulfate free.

I have straight, fine hair that knots easily. I haven't colored it in almost a decade, but deal with breakage some so while Silk18 is recommended for damaged hair, which I don't really have, I could always use a boost. And I felt a difference after just one use! My hair felt silkier and didn't knot as easily. I thought it did a nice job on my scalp, too, since I have constant itchiness and flaking (ugh, gross). It soothed the skin and even helped the eczema in my hairline a bit. I'll definitely be adding this one to my repeat buy list!


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Thursday, February 21, 2019

unboxing // ipsy february 2019

I recently signed up for Ipsy, a monthly beauty subscription service. You fill out a beauty quiz, let them know what you'd like to receive, and they send you five products for you to try out and review. I'm always late to everything and wasn't really a fan of subs, but I've realized I tend to buy the same things over and over, so I thought it would be a great way to branch out. Ipsy is not an exclusively cruelty free service, so I'm going to do my best to research and try to see what is cruelty free. It seems like this month's was entirely cruelty free (with the exception of my free gift of the Clinique). As always, check for yourself as I'm human. :)

Here's what I received in February's bag!

Ipsy Pink Pouch with Lip Print // I don't really need any more makeup bags, so this will likely be gifted to someone.

Meech N Mia Pressed Eyeshadow in Taupe // cruelty free // I was hoping for the taupe shade, but now that I have it I'm not sure how well it'll fit into my collection. It swatched a little purple, but that may just be me. I'm going to give it a shot, though!

Sand & Sky Australian Pink Clay Flash Perfection Exfoliating Treatment // cruelty free // I'm all about some skin care and I've heard good things about this.

Pixi by Petra Glow Tonic // cruelty free // I've been wanting to try this so badly and I'm so glad I got a sample! I'm going to use this up in place of my normal toner and see how it works.

Kokie Cosmetics Be Bright Illuminating Concealer in Light // cruelty free // I really like the striped top and doe foot applicator. Hopefully it doesn't come out too light for me.

Belle En Argent Auteur Creme Lip Color in I'll Bring Dessert // cruelty free // This color is great! The formula seemed to apply smoothly when I swatched it.

Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey // not cruelty free // This was a free gift for signing up. It's not cruelty free so I'm not going to replace it once I use it up, but it's a nice color for the office.


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

review // Diamond Candles pumpkin espresso

Last fall I scored a Diamond Candle for 30% off, so I thought I'd save it for the apartment. I actually have no sense of smell, so it's more a novelty for me to burn candles. However, this one offered a little prize in the form of a ring. You can potentially get a higher value ring, but typically they're just costume pieces. I chose the Pumpkin Espresso scent.
I started it one Saturday morning while Kyle was at work. It had a little frosting, but it didn't affect the candle's burning. However, it did start tunneling a few hours into burning, which isn't something you want your candles to do. I try to always burn candles long enough for them to evenly distribute wax to prevent tunneling, so unfortunately it wasn't my burning technique.

When Kyle got home later that evening, he couldn't pick up on the notes of pumpkin or espresso, so the scent throw of this wasn't doing too hot, either, especially since we live in a tiny one bedroom.
Here you can see the foil packet finally revealing itself. It took about 10-12 hours to get to this point, over a few days. We didn't reach for this candle as much as our others since it doesn't have a lot of smell to it.
 This is the little foil piece once I pried it out with some tweezers. It was attached to the side of the candle and came out fairly easily. The ring itself was well protected and was inside a small bag in the foil.
And here's the ring reveal! It's worth $10 and honestly isn't really anything I'd ever wear, but it's fairly nice for a cheap costume piece.

Final verdict? I don't think I'll be ordering another Diamond Candle just because the candle itself wasn't super amazing. It was a fun experience and the ring was an added bonus, but I can get candles with a better scent throw elsewhere. I'll likely finish burning it because we already have it, but this will be the last one.

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Friday, February 01, 2019

marshall's mini cruelty free haul

I stopped at Marshall's one day after work to pick up another dog bed for Tucker and perused the cosmetics aisle for a bit. Stores like Marshall's can have some really awesome finds, but you have to be careful and make sure the beauty products haven't been opened or swatched (because ew). I lucked out and picked up this Too Faced Melted Latex liquid lipstick in Hopeless Romantic for $5.99 and a Pacifica Cactus Revive Milk to Foam Face Wash for $4.99.
This lipstick is a gorgeous color and from how it performed on my arm, it has staying power. I had to use a lip color remover* to get it off completely after smearing it all over the place. It'll be a nice muted color for the office. I think the Latex line might be phasing out and the cleanser is discontinued, so snag the lipstick while you can!

Found anything good lately? ♥


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

review // stasher silicone storage bags

I've been trying to use less plastic in every day life and it's astounding how prevalent plastic is in almost everything. Luckily, I have a pretty awesome friend in Jess, who gave me a set of Stasher Bags for Christmas.

Stasher bags are silicone, non-porous and BPA free. They seal really well and are pliable and easy to use. Pictured is the Jade Snack and a Jade Sandwich came in the two pack as well! They were also packaged only in cardboard, which I recycled.

You can use these for soooo many things. I use them for food, obviously, but you can use them for airtight, water resistent protection for your phone or makeup as well! They're freezer and microwave and dishwasher safe, and you can even use them for sous vide cooking.

If you're looking to start eliminating plastic, definitely check out Stasher bags!


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Friday, January 11, 2019

target clearance haul // cruelty free beauty

 Who doesn't love clearance scores?? While waiting for the pharmacy to open one Sunday I wandered around the cosmetics aisles of Target. I typically avoid these because I have so many products and I'm supposed to be on a no buy. Well...I broke it a little. Here's what I scored!
 I love Pacifica's products and picked up their Mineral SPF Body Butter in Blood Orange for only $4.18! It's regularly $14. This will come in handy for the baseball season. I snap up cheap sunscreen whenever I can! The Wet n Wild ColorIcon Blush in Mellow Wine was the first item I found in a bin on an endcap for only $2.08, which isn't a far cry from it's original price but I take what I can get. I snagged the little Soap & Glory Peach Pout Completely Balmy Lipstick in Peach Ball for only $4.98 with an additional 25% off via Cartwheel. The last item is Profusion Cosmetics Smoky Eyes Palette for a mere $3.48! 
 The colors in this are right up my alley. I've been trying to get away from just brown looks, so I'm hoping to incorporate the grays and blues and blacks of this palette.
I love anything peach related and this lipstick doesn't disappoint! It's a pretty peachy color that isn't too overpowering and perfect for the office.

What have you scored lately? ♥


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Wednesday, January 09, 2019

review // tile pro tracker device


As my keychain suggests, I lose my keys a lot. This past weekend I lost them for three hours. Ridiculous, right? The next day Kyle took me to Target and purchased me a Tile tracker device and  passed on a stern "be more organized". But anyway, this little square is awesome. I attached it directly to my lump of keys.

All you have to do is download the Tile app, make sure Bluetooth is on, easily activate the device, and you're set! You fill out some information in the settings and can even activate it to ring your phone even if it's on silent. My phone hasn't left silent mode for years, so this is a godsend. I have the Pro version which can locate items up to 300 feet away. If I need my keys I just log in to the app, click the find button, and the Tile rings a little tune. If I need my phone, I just double click the center button on the Tile and my phone rings a little tune. It's amazing! The Tile lasts for a year on it's current battery and they are replaceable.

Tiles pretty much attach to anything. You can use a variety of ways to attach them: keyring, adhesive, pockets, or money clip!

I'd highly recommend a Tile if you find yourself constantly looking for something. I mean, we have a key hook right by the front door and I can never manage to put my keys on it. I used my Tile just this morning to find my keys and they were right there on the coffee table.


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

empties #18

It's been a while since my last empties post, but here we go! I've changed it up a bit and I'm now only marking when something is not cruelty free, but as usual, I'm human so always double check!
Tree Hut Shea Sugar Scrub* in Passion Fruit & Guava // I love Tree Hut's sugar scrubs. I'm a big fan of scrubs that you can feel working, which is probably terrible for my skin, but these fit the bill! I'm currently using Tropical Mango and I have Coconut Lime in my stash for later.

The Body Shop Hand Cleanse Gel in Satsuma // This was a nice smelling little hand sanitizer that I picked up at Marshall's. I'd get it again if I saw it.

Nspa Body Mist in Mango // cruelty free status unknown // This smelled amazing. I kept it in my car for a quick freshening up. This stuff didn't freeze or bloat the bottle in extreme temperatures, which is hard to find (and probably not good) in a body mist.

Deep Steep Body Wash in Strawberry // I love Deep Steep products! This body wash lathered well and smelled delicious. I'd definitely get it again. I think the strawberry is a summer scent, but there's a bunch of scents on their website.

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Deep Dive Cleansing Gel // I've raved about this cleanser before. It's one of my favorites.

Kiss My Face Shave Cream in Green Tea & Bamboo // I don't like shave creams that don't lather. This was more of a lotion and it was just kind of goopy. It did help with moisture, but I won't be grabbing this again.
Kyle is an umpire and is away from home for six months during the baseball season. He doesn't use the hotels' toiletries, so he saves some for me. Don't worry, he's not greedy. He doesn't get new bottles every day, just when he checks in. Well some hotels have these nifty little makeup removal wipes! They're great and I love getting these. Here's some that I've used up so far. Cruelty free status unknown.
Apothia Body Wash in Wave // cruelty free status unknown // This little guy was a snag from a stay at a lovely hotel after a wedding. Kyle said it smelled like Fruity Pebbles and I'd love to have a bottle, but a 10oz bottle is $30. Maybe if I found it on sale...

Maybelline Fit Me! Foundation Matte Poreless in 110 // NOT cruelty free // I don't even remember when I bought this, but I do remember it was for a Halloween costume. It's definitely past it's prime and I won't get it again.

Pacifica Body Butter in Indian Coconut Nectar // These are my favorite little lotions. I always have one in my desk and they work really well and smell amazing. Definitely would get more of these.

Chapstick 100% Natural Lip Butter in Sweet Papaya // NOT cruelty free // I received a few of these in a promo box (maybe a VoxBox?) and they worked okay. I wouldn't pay for one.

ProTerra Body Wash // Cruelty free status unknown // It's hotel body wash from Kyle's travels. Nothing special.

Paul Mitchell The Detangler Conditioner & Awapuhl Shampoo // These were another little hotel snag from Kyle's travels. They were nice little samples. I'd try the full size versions.

Beekman 1802 Conditioner // cruelty free status unknown //Another hotel bottle. This is a goat's milk conditioner and it was nice.
Templespa Repose Aromatherapy Night Cream // cruelty free status unknown // This was a little hotel sample. It was cloying and just not pleasant. And a full size is $60 for less than 2 ounces. No thanks.

Milani Prime Protect SPF Face Primer // This was a nice sized primer sample I got with a Milani order. I'd try the full size!

Olay Regenerist Whip Moisturizer // NOT cruelty free // This was okay. I didn't see anything special about it. I wouldn't get a full size.

There's another bout of my trash! Hooray! Until next time!

Follow

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

local haunts // boutique 31

Last week I was out in beautiful ole Tennessee to house sit for my mom and I stopped into one of my favorite boutiques, Boutique31. It's a small little shop that carries adorable clothing in standard and plus sizes. Kaitlyn, the owner, is the sweetest gal and she always has adorable pieces. Here's what I picked up!
I'm a sucker for cute leggings because they're soooo comfy. These leggings were posted on Facebook and I was hoping to snag a pair. They were only $5! Since these aren't quite as loud as some other pairs I have (coughcoughDOGPRINTcoughcough), so I'm excited to pair them with a black tunic and boots out somewhere casually.
How pretty is this necklace?! I love the green, the black, and the tassle. Definitely a good score for my jewelry collection.

And coming soon is a second location for Boutique31 in Knoxville!! I'm so excited to visit and happy that they're doing so well.

Be sure to check them out:
Website // Facebook // Instagram

Follow

Sunday, July 15, 2018

empties #17

The never ending pile of empties has produced another post. I've now replaced the majority of my products with cruelty free and vegan items, so from now on I will be posting when something is not cruelty free and vegan (I'm still trying to use up old products to reduce waste). ♥ And, as always, please do your own research! I'm human.
Pacifica Kale Detox Face Wash* // This is one of my favorite cleansers! It's a light, green smelling cleanser that's great for every day use. You can see the full review here.

The Honest Company Honest Healing Balm // I found this in a box while I was decluttering. I don't remember using it when I first got it years ago, but it's since separated so it doesn't work properly.

tarte Rainforest of the Sea 4-in-1 Setting Spray Marine Boosting Mist* // I've finally finished up this little sample bottle. I liked it, but I'm not sure I'd buy a full size.

Palmer's Coconut Oil Facial Oil // I didn't like this but that's because I'm not a big facial oil fan.

H20+ Oasis Ultra Hydrating Cream* // This was a little sample I got in an Ulta order and LET ME TELL YOU this moisturizer worked SO WELL and made my skin look SO GOOD. I'm just so sad that a full size of 1.7 fl. oz. is $42 or I'd already have some.

tarte Pack Your Bags Undereye Patches* // I really enjoyed these patches. They were really refreshing!

Clinique Moisture Surge 72 Hour Auto-Replenishing Hydrator // not cruelty free & vegan // Meh. Strong chemical smell and I didn't see how it really did anything for my skin. I'm glad this was just a free sample from an Ulta order.

Nip + Fab Bee Sting Fix Toner Pads // not vegan // I picked these up at Marshall's. I liked them, but missed the bee venom ingredient, so I'll be looking for a vegan offering from Nip + Fab.

Juice Organics Pompeptide Moisturizer // This is my all time favorite moisturizer. Sadly it's been discontinued and this was the last tube I had. Crying.
Maple Holistics Tea Tree Shampoo // I loved this shampoo for my eczema. See the full review here.

Pür Disappearing Ink 4-in-1 Pen in Light // This was way too orange for me from the beginning. When I first bought it I wasn't as adept at blending as I am now, but it's since oxidized and I can't use it. I'd consider purchasing it in a lighter shade, but it's a little pricey.

e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation* in Porcelain (now named Natural) // I thought this was my go-to foundation color until I accidentally bought a lighter shade and had compliments (specifically from Kyle) that it worked better. So I say goodbye to Porcelain (Natural) and I've since moved to the Light Ivory shade. Definitely will keep buying!

Drybar Triple Sec Dry Shampoo* // I cashed out some Sephora points for this last year when I ordered my birthday gift. I really enjoyed this! The full size is a little pricier than I'd like to pay for a dry shampoo, but I'd consider it since it worked so well.

Auromere Herbal Toothpaste in Fresh Mint // I've used this toothpaste brand before and I really like it. I've tried the licorice flavor, too, but the fresh mint is much better. Definitely will pick up another tube when I see it.

There's another month!

Follow

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

unboxing // nadine west #2

This is my second Nadine West box and I'm pretty excited about it! To recap a bit, Nadine West is a fashion subscription box where you receive a few items per month (or every two weeks by preference) to try on. If you don't like them, send them back. If you do like them, keep them for their (low) price! This month my $9.78 for shipping was applied to any item I decided to keep, along with a Facebook coupon of $3. You really can't get any better for a fashion subscription box. This month I received five items: three clothing pieces and two jewelry pieces. Here they are!
I'll start with the clothing. I loved the print of the Animal Inside leopard print top ($25.49), but I'm just not a cold shoulder fan. NW didn't know that, though, but I'll be sure to update my reviews! I'll be sending it back. The sage green Stay Casual ($17.99) shorts were really cute but I don't need any more casual wear, so they're going back. Then there was a short sleeve baseball tissue tee called Infield ($22.99) in a fantastic tunic length. You bet this one is staying with me. A tunic length top with a baseball related name? Yup.
On to the jewelry! The earrings, called Diamond Dangle ($12.99) had a very nice pavè design, but not my style. The necklace, Hoop Dreams ($16.99) was fantastic for my style, but I have an almost identical one in a bronze tone, so both of these pieces went back.

Overall, I'm pretty impressed with the style chosen for this box, I just didn't need duplicates. I'm also impressed that in one month's feedback they've pretty much nailed my taste. If you'd like to try Nadine West for yourself, please use my referral code RS8D-YENH-P4J3 for a FREE set of earrings, AND free shipping when you sign up!

Until next month!

___
See all of my Nadine West unboxing posts here.
Follow
^