lucky bandit: product review
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

pacifica // kale detox face wash

I've tried a lot of face washes and cleansers and  I can say that I love Pacifica's Kale Detox. I've gotten two travel sizes in sets from my mom, which is where this one came from, and I've got a full size waiting in the wings (also from my mom...she keeps me stocked with Pacifica products).

Kale Detox is a smooth gel face wash that is a cheery green but has some great cleansing power. It smells very earthy and, well, kale like. I'm one of those people that scrubs their eye makeup off with cleanser, which this does nicely, without drying out my skin or irritating around my eyes.

At ten dollars for five ounces, the price isn't bad at all. I've found this in person at Target and Ulta, so it's pretty readily available, along with being available at several online retailers.

Follow

Monday, January 08, 2018

pacifica // rollerball fragrance trio

My mom is an amazing deal finder and an amazing stocking stuffer. I opened this trio of Pacifica rollerball fragrances* and was ecstatic! The Indian Coconut Nectar scent is one of my favorites. Tahitian Gardenia and Sugared Amber Dreams are both going to be perfect for the office.

I especially love Pacifica because their entire line is cruelty free and vegan, so there's no label reading to be had! Pacifica is also sold at a wide variety of stores including Target, so it's easily found and has a great price point.

Definitely check them out!

Follow

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

empties #15

This is a big one, guys. I feel like I've been hoarding this trash way too long. Since I've been working so much, I've been lacking the natural light to take photos but my lighting kit finally came in so I was able to knock this one out.

As always, I can make mistakes on my cruelty free and vegan labels, so always check for yourself! ♥
Village Naturals Mineral Bath Soak // I don't take baths often at all, so I just used this in the bottom of the shower. Obviously not what it's meant for, so it didn't work super well. I have another of these, both coming from a subscription box, but I wouldn't purchase this on my own.

Crest Toothpaste Sample // I don't know where this came from but I went ahead and used it up. I like my natural toothpastes more.

L.A. Colors Eye Makeup Remover Pads // cruelty free & vegan // These were decent little pads I picked up in a gift set. They were really best for light eye makeup days.

Lush Superbalm Scalp Treatment // cruelty free & vegan // This worked really well on my eczema on my scalp. Like, gone overnight well, BUT it made my hair so greasy. I had to wash my hair multiple times after using it. I actually ended up using the rest of this on some spots on my skin away from my scalp.

Schwarzkopf Gliss Hair Repair Conditioner // Another sub-box sample. The bottle made this hard to use up completely. I felt it was just a run of the mill conditioner.

Avalon Organics CoQ10 Facial Cleansing Milk // cruelty free & vegan // This was a decent cleanser. It was great for eye makeup residue. However, I've decided that creamy cleansers and milks just aren't for me.

e.l.f. Nail Polish* // cruelty free & vegan // This is a blue polish that I got in a gift set. I never even opened it as blue isn't my color for nail polish. It's separated and can't be saved, so it's going.

100% Pure Kelp & Mint Volumizing Shampoo Sample* // cruelty free & vegan // I received a few of these in an order. I like it and I think I'd order a full size.

e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator in Clear* // cruelty free & vegan // I'll never buy one of these again. It's hard to use, gets all over your face, and doesn't do an amazing exfoliating job.

Pacifica Pore Refine Deep Detox Mask* // cruelty free & vegan // I love this product. It goes on clear and rinses off well and I feel like it really helps my skin. It cuts redness really quickly and my pores always look better the next day.

Jason Powersmile Gel Toothpaste in Powerful Peppermint* // cruelty free & vegan // This was my first Jason product and I really liked it. I'd definitely buy it again.

Vaseline Intensive Care Lotion // Standard unscented lotion from a sub-box. I wouldn't buy it.

Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy Lotion in Eucalyptus Spearmint // Do they even make these anymore? The lotion isn't bad, but the scent was cloying and very artificial.

Crabtree & Evelyn Citron Cleansing Shampoo in Honey & Coriander // I think I finished up this sample at my mom's house? I don't remember putting it in my bag, either, and I didn't acquire it. I didn't see how it was an amazing shampoo.

Pacifica Dreamy Youth Day & Night Face Cream* // cruelty free & vegan // I liked this moisturizer a lot. I'd buy a full size.

Frizz Ease Moisturizing Conditioner // Another sub-box sample. This did cut the frizz a little, but Frizz Ease isn't cruelty free.


Wet n Wild Makeup Remover Towelettes* // cruelty free & vegan // These worked pretty well. I'd pick them up again.

Wet n Wild Mattifying Powder* // cruelty free & vegan // Am I the only one that has the worst luck with keeping powders solid? Ugh. This was a decent powder and I'd buy it again.

L'Oreal Ever Pure Conditioner in Lotus // vegan // I'll note that the Ever Pure line is vegan and is even stated on the bottle, but L'Oreal isn't cruelty free. I got this and the shampoo in a VoxBox and it's really a shame that they still test on animals because this was a decent conditioner.

Colgate Radiant Optic White Sample // Where do these samples come from?? I don't buy them?? I'll stick to my natural toothpastes.

Kleancolor Nail Polish // cruelty free & vegan // Again, blue isn't my color for polish. I've had this forever and it needs to go.

Rimmel 60 Second Nail Polish in Silver // Apparently silver isn't my color for polish either, as I never used this and it separated.

Curel Hydra-therapy Wet Skin Moisturizer // Okay. In-shower lotions are the bane of my existence. I hate, hate, hate them. I only used this one because I'd been putting it off after getting it in a sub-box and I was tired of looking at it. I refuse to purchase an in shower lotion.
Soapbox Coconut Oil Conditioner* // cruelty free & vegan // I finally used this up. It's been sitting in my shower so long that they've changed packaging. I loved this conditioner. It helped with frizz and I felt it really nourished my hair.

Palmer's Coconut Oil Facial Oil* // cruelty free & vegan // So oils are not for me and my face. I don't like the way they feel.

Charcoalogy Facial Clay Cleanser // I thought this was a different brand when I bought it. I can't seem to find a definitive answer on if the brand is cruelty free or not.

Dove Dry Spray Antiperspirant  // I didn't think I'd ever use this up. Not a fan.

Suave Deoderant in Powder // Still have a ton of these. They're good deoderants.

Natrol Melatonin 3mg // This worked alright. It's not vegan and I need to order some more that is.


Green Tea Candle // I think this one was from Target? A decent little candle.

Bath & Body Works Mini Candle in Twisted Peppermint // I got this in my stocking and I loved it.

Yankee Candle in Guava Coconut Fusion* // This smelled really good.

DW Home Candle in Peppered Citrus // I stared at this scent every time I went in Marshall's and finally bought it. I loved it.

That wraps up another month of my trash. As you can tell, I'm still working my way through a lot of non-cruelty free items, but I'm replacing them with products that aren't tested on animals.

Follow

Monday, October 23, 2017

jason // sea fresh strengthening toothpaste

I started using more natural toothpastes a few years ago and except for the occasional sample I somehow still receive, I've stuck with them. A while back I picked up Jason's Power Smile Gel Toothpaste and liked it, so when I started running low I went back to Marshall's and found this little tube of Sea Fresh Strengthening Toothpaste.

The great thing about Jason toothpastes? They promise no sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates, no preservatives, no artificial colors, no artificial sweeteners, no saccharin, no propylene glycol, no gluten. Holy moly. Not only do they not have all of those nasties, they're cruelty free and vegan!

Now onto the actual review:

I've been enjoying this toothpaste. Not like brouhaha partying enjoy, but I like the consistency and taste. It's got a tiny smidge of stickiness, but I think it helps it feels like it's working, and as a paste compared to a gel it foams and cleans a little better.

A problem I've had with more natural toothpastes in the past is that I don't feel my mouth is fresh enough. This one though? Minty fresh!

I think I'm going to keep this as my go to toothpaste. You can try it yourself on Amazon, iHerb*, and VeganEssentials.



Follow

Friday, October 20, 2017

mini e.l.f. haul

Last week I took advantage of e.l.f.'s one day offering of free shipping and picked up the Moisturizing Foundation Stick in Ivory and the All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige. I've been growing more bored with my cream foundations, so I thought I'd try something new.
This was my first time trying a stick foundation and I have to say I expected it to be a lot drier. This foundation spread well, is buildable, and clearly has moisturizing tendencies. The cover stick was creamy and I think it'll work well on my undereyes.

Have you tried anything from e.l.f. lately? If not, join the Beauty Squad and use this  $5 coupon*!

Follow

Sunday, October 15, 2017

vegan food review // Tofurky slow roasted chick'n strips

I decided to pick up these new Tofurky Slow Roasted Chick'n strips to add to a salad we had planned for dinner at my mom's. I wasn't disappointed!

They were super easy to prepare. You just take the wrapped product out of the box, poke a few holes in the plastic packaging, and pop it into the microwave for 60 seconds. The strips aren't packed in a ton of liquid so they don't come out mushy and can even be shredded for things like tacos. You could alternatively cook these in a pan on the stove, which I might opt to do next time.

Texture is usually what stops my buying meat alternatives, but I had no qualms about this! So how was the texture? I didn't feel like I was eating chicken, but it was firm and not rubbery at all. They held up well in salad dressing and had a smoky, full flavor, but were true to the "lightly seasoned" claim. The pieces could easily be broken into smaller pieces, which was nice for a salad. My only complaint is that I put too many pieces on my plate and it became overwhelming after a bit, but I believe that's just my palate. I'd love to try a vegan buffalo chick'n dip with these!

These strips come in four flavors: lightly seasoned, Tandoori, BBQ, and Thai basil.You can find them online at VeganEssentials, but I found them in store for less than four dollars.

Follow

Friday, September 29, 2017

maple holistics // tea tree shampoo

**I was compensated for this post by receiving a free product to review from Maple Holistics. This review is my own honest opinion.

Recently I was contacted by Maple Holistics to see if I was interested in trying their Tea Tree Shampoo. Not only is Maple Holistics cruelty free, this product is vegan, paraben free, GMO free, and gluten free. The ingredients list for the Tea Tree Shampoo was short and to the point. I've been wanting to try a tea tree line as I have eczema and an itchy scalp, so I jumped at the chance.

The Tea Tree Shampoo combines jojoba, tea tree, rosemary, and lavender to combat dandruff, regulate oil secretions, and clear away blemishes on the scalp. You simply wet your hair with warm water, apply the shampoo and let it sit for a few minutes after massaging it into your scalp, then rinse with cool water.

I don't wash my hair every day, so I've used this shampoo twice since receiving it. I'm impressed already - I've noticed my scalp being significantly less itchy and my eczema spots are less red and noticeable! My hair felt softer and smoother after one shampoo, unlike many shampoos that leave my hair with that straw like feeling. I've definitely found my scalp to be responding well to this and I believe I may have found a new go to shampoo.

Try it for yourself here or try a sample of their other products here!

Follow

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

empties #14

Since it's been summer, I haven't been using many products up. I hardly wear makeup unless it's planned, so my makeup has just been sitting there. Sorry, pretty things.


Dove Advanced Care Deodorant  // I didn't care for this. It didn't work for me.

Theraneem Naturals Skin Lotion in Neem Therape* // cruelty free & vegan // This lotion helped with my eczema and was pretty rich. I'm going to add a full size to my next iHerb order.

Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera* // cruelty free & vegan // It's aloe vera. I don't know why I even had this bottle, but I'd buy this brand again if I needed it.

Alba Botanica Body in the Buff Firming Scrub in Espresso* // cruelty free & vegan // This scrub was great and the coffee was a great plus. It wasn't oily like some sugar scrubs, and it rinsed out of the tub fairly well. My skin felt a lot softer after using it.

Simple Pleasures Hand Soap in Summer Peach // I didn't think I'd ever finish this. This was a $1 purchase at Joann Fabrics when I thought I was out, but I'll be replacing this with something cruelty free.

Good Things Fresh Start Creamy Cleanser // cruelty free & vegan // I grabbed this on a whim at Marshall's one day because the ingredients looked decent. It was an alright cleanser. I'm beginning to think that cream cleansers aren't my thing, though, but if I found this at a cheap enough price I'd pick it up as a backup.

e.l.f. Volumizing Mascara* // cruelty free & vegan // This is the cheapest mascara e.l.f. offers. I pick them up religiously to use as a base coat for my other mascaras. It's a decent product, doesn't get all over my eyelids and doesn't flake.

Madre Labs Rose Petal Witch Hazel // cruelty free & vegan // I used this as a toner and really liked it. Sadly, it's been discontinued.

e.l.f. Pressed Powder in Buff* (similar) // cruelty free & vegan // I didn't like this and it broke all to pieces, as e.l.f. powders seem to do when I have them. I wouldn't repurchase.

Avalon Organics Bath & Shower Gel* in Grapefruit and Geranium // cruelty free & vegan // This bottle lasted forever and I really liked it. I got a few compliments on the smell, too! They've since changed their packaging and this scent has been discontinued, but I'd try some of their others.

Vegan True Melatonin* // vegan // This is my go to melatonin. Definitely already in my iHerb cart.

Not Pictured:
Gilette Fusion Hydra Gel Shaving Gel // I'm still using up shaving cream from my years of couponing. I won't buy it again, but it's been nice having a supply of shave gel.

Up & Up Biotin plus Keratin // I suppose these worked, but I picked up a different brand.

Dial NutriSkin Lotion // A decent lotion from the coupon stash, I won't pick it up again.

Jergens Ultra Healing Hand Moisturizer // Meh. I still have like six of these that I'm using up. I'll be glad when they're gone.

And there's another month of digging through my trash. Hurrah!

Follow

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: jane iredale pure & simple makeup kit

I received this Jane Iredale VoxBox complimentary of Influenster for testing purposes.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I hadn't heard of Jane Iredale before I received the survey email from Influenster to see if I was eligible for their VoxBox, but when I did a little research on the brand I liked what I saw. I received the Pure & Simple Makeup Kit in medium light.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Jane Iredale is Leaping Bunny and PETA certified cruelty free, they have many vegan products, and check out those great pigments! I've never used powder foundation before, so I'm excited to try it. The kit came with two PurePressed Base Mineral Foundations in Amber and Radiant (vegan), a PurePressed Blush in Sheer Honey (vegan), two PurePressed Eye Shadows in Oyster and Supernova (vegan), a Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Peach (not vegan), and a dual ended eye brush and blush brush. I'm going to pass the lip and cheek stain on to Jess so it doesn't get wasted. :)

I can't wait to work these into my daily makeup routine!

Follow

Monday, April 17, 2017

indie blends: breathe in collection // perfume sample review

Indie Blends invited me to try out three of their perfumes. When I got the box in the mail, I was so excited! All of their products are cruelty free and vegan, and made in small, handcrafted batches. The packaging really stood out as well and it was a bright and fun box to open.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received three samples - one each of Inspiration, Love, and Strength. I love the packaging and inspirational cards that each is on. All three have different floral tones and they were light and fresh and perfect for spring.

Not only do I like how upbeat the branding is, Indie Blends is on a great mission and I really love that their products are formulated without parabens and phthalates! I'll be ordering Strength soon!

Follow

Saturday, March 11, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: marc jacobs beauty highliner

Recently I received the Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner VoxBox! Influenster sent me the box to try out some new products.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received two Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Matte Gel Eye Crayons* in the colors Pink of Me and (Earth)Quake. These eyeliners retail for $25, so I was really glad to get them! They're super pigmented and go on so smoothly.

Pink of Me is on the left, which is a light pink, and (Earth)Quake is on the right, which is a deep brown and the color I would buy.  I don't know how much wear I'll get out of the light pink, but I'll use the deep brown every day. They state they last twelve hours and it took some scrubbing to get the swatches off, so I'll be putting them to the test here soon!

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Have you tried anything new lately?

Follow

Monday, December 26, 2016

vegan food review: Gardein meatless pepperoni pizza pockets

In one of the cruelty free beauty groups I'm in on Facebook, someone mentioned that Gardein has some pocket type meals. Then I noticed that there were meatless pepperoni pizza pockets and I immediately started looking for them.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I found them! They're certified vegan, quick to heat up, and delicious! Typically I'm not a big faux meat fan, but the texture of the pepperoni wasn't bad at all, nor did the pockets have that gummy textured cheese.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I keep them in the freezer at work for quick lunches as they only take less than two minutes to heat. They have great flavor and are pretty filling. The sodium is a tad high, but not terrible, and they don't have much sugar. I'd highly recommend these.

If you've been looking for a tasty vegan pocket meal, go find these!

Follow

Friday, September 23, 2016

fashion friday: life is

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter
I was provided the "Life is Tough" shirt from Cents of Style in exchange for this post. Affiliate links are included.

When Cents of Style contacted me to write a post about life, I wasn't super sure about it. I am generally a pessimist, but thought "hey, I can do this, I have a pretty decent life!" So I chose the "Life is tough, but so are you" tee.

Everyone's had some tough spots in life, and I'm no different. Sometimes a little reminder can make all the difference - that you're tough, too!

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

This shirt, though? So soft and the fit is fantastic. The best part? They're only $15.95 and they ship free with code LIFEIS1! ♥




Follow

Friday, September 02, 2016

my latest beauty favorites

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Swissco Ultimate Vent Brush in Large // Hairbrushes have never been a thing of importance to me. They keep my long ass hair from becoming a matted mess, but beyond that? Nah. Growing up I used paddle brushes and there was that one time my cousin got a round brush so tangled in my hair it had to be cut out, but other than that I never put any thought into how I brushed my hair. UNTIL NOW! Swissco's Ultimate Vent Brush is AMAZING! I no longer look at hairbrushes the same.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Pacifica's Indian Coconut Nectar Roll On Perfume  // So good. I feel like I'm on a tropical island when I use this. It comes in a glass vial, so I'm a little hesitant to carry it in my purse, but I love it.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Hurraw Lip Balm in Grapefruit // I don't like eating grapefruit, but I love them in everything else. Luckily I can get Hurraw at my local Wegman's, and this stuff is awesome. It covers well without being heavy or sticky.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion // I have dark spots from acne and this lotion really helps lighten them and even out my complexion. I use it at night after I cleanse and before I moisturize. I can see a difference in a few days and that's awesome compared to the many other dark spot correcting products I've used.

I'd love to know your favorites - leave your links in the comments! ♥

Follow

Saturday, August 27, 2016

local haunts: Hyperion Espresso // fxbg

hyperion espresso fredericksburg virginia lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I love coffee. Plain and simple. I'm also a huge advocate of supporting local coffee shops. One of my favorites? Hyperion Espresso in Downtown Fredericksburg. They brew a fantastic dark roast, and they have almost any flavor syrup you could want.

During the summer, I typically stick with their smoothies or Italian sodas. Mango smoothie, peach Italian soda. ♥ You can't go wrong with the black tea, either. I recently tried their seasonal pomegranate black tea. Yum.

hyperion espresso fredericksburg virginia lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I don't normally have a lot of time to hang out there, but they have loads of space for working on your laptop and hanging out with friends. When you buy a drink, just grab the wifi password from the register. The building that houses Hyperion is pretty gorgeous on the inside, too, so there's none of that stale decor you'll find at other coffee shops.

The baristas have always been friendly, so if you're not sure what to order off their extensive menu, just ask!

So if you're in the area, stop by! You won't be disappointed.


Follow

Sunday, August 21, 2016

empties #5

empties lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Clarisonic Refreshing Gel Cleanser // I got a Clarisonic Mia for Christmas that I love. This is the cleanser that came with it. My skin felt clean after using it, but it was pretty drying and not cruelty free, so I won't be getting it again.

ban Shower Fresh deodorant // This worked pretty well when I first got it a while back with a coupon. Towards the end of the tube it stopped working as well. I don't know if it was my skin that adapted or the product, but either way ban isn't cruelty free, so I won't be repurchasing.

L'Oreal Total Repair 5 Restoring Conditioner // This was another freebie from couponing. This conditioner works great, but L'Oreal isn't cruelty free, sadly.

Pacifica Glow Baby Youthful Face Scrub // cruelty free and vegan // I got this in a little trial four pack of Pacifica's facial products (Thanks, Mumma!). I've mentioned before that I like pretty strong facial scrubs - I like to feel them working. This scrub does just that. I'd definitely purchase this again.

Vegan True Melatonin 3mg // cruelty free and vegan // Vegan True's melatonin worked pretty well. I didn't wake up groggy but it helped me sleep. This is on my iHerb to order list. (And if you use the code TNZ430 you'll get $5 off your order and I'll get $5!)

Julep Glycolic Hand Scrub // cruelty free // I really liked this little sample of hand scrub. One use and I really could tell a difference! And there's still time to get the Summer Brights 6-Piece Beauty Gift!


empties lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

These next products are all products I won't be repurchasing, as they aren't cruelty free, sadly.

Herbal Essences Tousle Me Softly Shampoo // Another couponing purchase from forever ago. I don't know what exactly this shampoo was supposed to do, but it didn't do it.

Almay Oil Free Eye Makeup Removed Pads // I got these free with coupons and this is the last of the batch. They worked well on eye makeup, but left a weird residue that I always felt I needed to wash off.

Rodan + Fields Micro-Dermabrasion Paste // cruelty free // I like tough exfoliators. This felt like I was rubbing glass on my face.

White Barn Eucalyptus Mint mini candle // This smelled nice and for such a small candle it burned for a long time. I got this as a stocking stuffer and really liked it.

Tresemme Platinum Strength Conditioner // Another cheap coupon find. I enjoyed this conditioner, but Tresemme isn't cruelty free.

What products have you used lately?

Follow

Friday, July 29, 2016

TaDah Foods falafel wrap review

On my grocery run to Target, I spotted a new line of products when I was checking out the meatless section. Then I saw the word falafel and knew I had to try out TaDah Foods' wraps. I picked up the Lemony Roasted Garlic Hummus option. Those are all of my favorite things!

tadah foods wrap review lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

tadah foods wrap review lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

The wrap was really good. In a quick minute and forty five seconds, it's ready to eat! I prefer quickly heated items when I take lunch to work. The best part? They're 100% all natural, vegan, and the tortilla is non-gmo. At $3.99 each, they're a bit pricey, but it was more than enough for my meal and I actually couldn't finish it all in one sitting. There was only one true con for me and that was the sodium count - it was a bit higher than I like, but it didn't reflect a lot in the taste.

If you're looking for a quick lunch option, definitely check these out!

Follow

Saturday, July 23, 2016

a #bloggerscene rooftop party at the embassy row hotel

#bloggerscene blogger scene embassy row hotel rooftop cocktail party

#bloggerscene blogger scene embassy row hotel rooftop cocktail party

Wednesday night, Jess from Writing in Red Lipstick and I hopped the metro and made our way to the Embassy Row Hotel in Washington D.C. for a rooftop cocktail party for area bloggers.

It was a great time! We started off the night with drinks and the PeachE Punch was A+. While I'm not a big mingler, there were some great ladies there that I was happy to have met! There was a great panel of bloggers for a Q&A, the view was gorgeous, and the atmosphere was perfect.

#bloggerscene blogger scene embassy row hotel rooftop cocktail party

Follow

Sunday, July 17, 2016

movies i've watched lately

I've never been a big movie fan. I watched them occasionally, saw really interesting ones in theatres, and I can count how many Redboxes I've rented on one hand. However, since I've been utilizing my local library, I've been checking out DVDs and catching up. Here's what I've watched lately (for free!).

Keep in mind that I watch movies purely for entertainment, so I don't normally watch movies that wrack my brain. :P

movies i've watched lately lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Zathura: A Space Adventure // This is basically a space version of Jumanji, though not quite as good and not as long. It's an older movie (2005), but I'd still recommend it if you want a short little watch. Catch this one on Netflix!

Jurassic World // I saw this in theatres and loved it then, and still love it now. If you like the Jurassic Park series, definitely get this one. I just finished reading Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton, so I snagged this one to satisfy my current dinosaur interest.

10 Cloverfield Lane // This one was intense. There was an uneasy feeling to the whole movie. Definitely a suspenseful thriller! There was a twist that wasn't really a twist; it was really strange. If you're a thrill junkie, though, I'd recommend it.

What have you watched lately?

Follow

Sunday, January 24, 2016

ModFamily Stash It Toiletry Bag Review #StashIt


I received a ModFamily Stash It toiletry bag at a discount in exchange for this review.
Opinions are my own.

The great folks over at ModFamily sent me a coupon code to get a deep discount on their Stash It toiletry bag. I was pretty excited - I'm one of those people that has one bag that all of my makeup goes into, and I have to dig through it to find something. So when I saw the concept of their Stash It bag, I couldn't wait to try it out.

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

The bag is 100% polyester, so you can toss it in the wash or wipe it clean with a cloth if you need to. It opens completely up with the help of a drawstring, no outer zippers, and it gives you complete access to everything with a 21" diameter. It even has a little lip to prevent things from rolling off the mat. There are a couple bungee straps in the center to corral items, along with a small interior pocket that's zippered for valuables. (Some of those lipsticks are expensive, phew!)

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

I'll start with what I loved about the bag: I could find everything I needed easily. All my makeup, brushes, and face products were laid out in front of me. It was easy to draw the bag up and have everything in one place. I could put my toner, face wash, and more all in there. I tried it out with a few of my every day products, but I could easily fit a long trip's worth of products in there.

However, the bag didn't offer a ton of protection for my items. It's made more for toiletries; bottles that won't mind getting jostled around. It'd be perfect for things like face wash, body wash, and the like. I wouldn't put brushes in there if they're not in a wrap. It also takes up quite a bit of space. You'll need a large counter to spread it out on to properly use it.

I'd highly recommend ordering a Stash It bag. It has infinite uses - makeup, toiletries, small toys, and you could even use it in the car for crayons and travel items! I can definitely see myself using this on a regular basis.

^