lucky bandit: beauty review
Showing posts with label beauty review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label beauty review. Show all posts

Thursday, May 30, 2019

unboxing // ipsy march 2019

Woooo, this post is late. I've been so busy I just got around to photographing March's Ipsy box. Here we go!
The bag this month is cute, but not something I'd use. It says 'and she went off to change the world', which was fitting for National Women's History Month.
Trissola Intense Hydrating Mask // link // This mask claims to hydrate and improve manageability. I don't really have a moisture issue with my hair, but if I did this looks promising! I'll likely gift this. I can't really confirm if it's cruelty free or not, either.
First Aid Beauty Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer // link // Y'all. If this does what it claims, I will be a loyal patron for life. I love products that eliminate other products, and this is supposed to moisturize while minimizing fine lines and pores as a primer. I love First Aid Beauty! They're cruelty free and their Ultra Repair Cream does wonders for my eczema.
PÜR Afterglow Mini Highlighting Skin Perfecting Powder // link // I was excited about this until I realized that it won't stick to my palette*. If you're going to send something like this, put it in real packaging or put it in a pan that sticks to magnetic palettes! I do like powder products like this, so hopefully I can get past the packaging.
IBY Beauty Eyeshadow in Headliner // link // I was delighted to get this little eyeshadow! IBY is cruelty free and I had just finished up my office go to single shadow. The shade is right up my alley and it blended nicely when I swatched it.
tarte Maneater Voluptuous Mascara // link // At one point I was down to half a tube of mascara and now it seems like I have fifty. I haven't tried this, though, but I've wanted to. I like the brush and that tarte is cruelty free.

Overall I'm pretty happy with this bag (with the exception of that bad packaging by Pur). I still have April's to photograph, but I have decided to drop to receiving them every other month so I can continue to use up some older products.

frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

empties #19

It's taken me a little to gather up some empties and then I realized that I had a bunch. But here we go! As usual, I'll only be labeling the products that are not cruelty free, but always double check as I can make mistakes.
Soapbox Argan Oil Shampoo // This is the older packaging, so it's really really old. It still worked nicely up until I finally used it up, though! I like that Soapbox donates a bar of soap every time something is purchased, so I'd definitely get this again.

St. Ives Apricot Scrub // not cruelty free // I got this for Christmas. I know this is bad for your face, but it exfoliates so well. Since it's not cf I won't pick it up myself, but I'm always thankful for gifts like this.

e.lf. Hydrating Face Primer* // You get a tiny amount of product in these little containers, but they're cheap and work fairly well. I pick them up when I see them at Marshall's and TJMaxx.

Skin & Co Roma Anti-Aging Serum // cruelty free status unknown // I think I got this in a Walmart beauty box or with an Ulta order. This little sample was nice, but I didn't see how it did much for my skin.

Greenman Gardens CBD Oil // cruelty free // This was my first foray into cbd oil. I'd get this again.

The Ordinary Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA // I didn't really like the cakey consistency of this moisturizer, but it did it's job. I'm not sure I'd get it again, though.
Some hotel samples Kyle picked up during his season.This year I've told him to only pick up the brand name items like Paul Mitchell, since they're cruelty free.
e.l.f. BB Cream* // I don't remember which shade I picked up of this, likely the lightest. I loved using this for a quick face on days I'm running behind because it blends easily and doesn't oxidize quickly.

Estee Lauder Eyeshadow Single in Cinnamon // not cruelty free // This was one of my favorite shades that I've probably held on to for years. I dropped it on the sink and it split right before panning it, so I pushed the pieces back in and used it until it was powder. I have yet to find a true dupe for this and the color has been discontinued (even though I wouldn't buy it because it's not cruelty free), but I'll keep searching.

Revlon Colorstay Shadow Stick in Atomic // not cruelty free // I've had this for WAY too long. I tried using it up, even slapping it on as a primer (which actually worked well?), but I just got sick of it and threw it in my empties box. The taupe side was a nice shimmery shade, and the other side was a sage green that didn't really work for me. Revlon isn't cruelty free, so I won't rebuy.
B&BW Body Mist in Paris Amour // not cruelty free // I received this for Christmas years ago. I used in my car as a little refresher.

B&BW Hand Cream in Witch Please // not cruelty free // Kyle got this for me because he says I'm a witch (and not the cool kind - *eye roll*). I kept this on my desk and it was a nice hand cream.
J.Lo Miami Glow Perfume // cruelty free status unknown // I've had this bottle for years and I love this scent. I'd totally get it again if I could find out if J.Lo's line was cruelty free.

Estee Lauder Pleasures Perfume // not cruelty free // I wore this to use it up because I've had this one even longer than the Miami Glow. I got a lot of compliments on it, but sadly EL isn't cruelty free.
Samples! I've received so many of these lately it seems like. I'll just run through them quickly. I liked the 100% Pure Kelp & Mint Shampoo*, but those packets were so hard to open. I keep getting the Clinique (not cruelty free) moisturizers and don't really care for them but don't want to waste them. I liked the Ulta Makeup Remover Wipes* and would repurchase. I think the Nivea Aloe Vera Lotion (not cruelty free) sample came from a magazine and it was mediocre, and the Olay Daily Facials Wipe (not cruelty free) worked well but tests on animals. The Sephora Cleansing Cream (not cruelty free) came in an order and was just okay. The big hit here, though, was the Bliss Makeup Melt*, which worked SO WELL with removing my eye makeup! I'm definitely going to order some of that.

So there's another pile of my trash. What have you used up lately?


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

review // Maple Holistics Silk18 shampoo

**I was compensated for this post by receiving a free product to review from Maple Holistics. This review is my own honest opinion.

I recently received a bottle of Maple Holistics' Silk18 Shampoo and was so excited to try it out! I've received product from them before and really liked the tea tree shampoo, so when they contacted me about their Silk18, I jumped at the chance.

This shampoo is said to achieve stronger, smoother, more luscious hair with the help of 18 silk amino acids and oils such as argan and jojoba. It's cruelty free and paraben and sulfate free.

I have straight, fine hair that knots easily. I haven't colored it in almost a decade, but deal with breakage some so while Silk18 is recommended for damaged hair, which I don't really have, I could always use a boost. And I felt a difference after just one use! My hair felt silkier and didn't knot as easily. I thought it did a nice job on my scalp, too, since I have constant itchiness and flaking (ugh, gross). It soothed the skin and even helped the eczema in my hairline a bit. I'll definitely be adding this one to my repeat buy list!


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Thursday, February 21, 2019

unboxing // ipsy february 2019

I recently signed up for Ipsy, a monthly beauty subscription service. You fill out a beauty quiz, let them know what you'd like to receive, and they send you five products for you to try out and review. I'm always late to everything and wasn't really a fan of subs, but I've realized I tend to buy the same things over and over, so I thought it would be a great way to branch out. Ipsy is not an exclusively cruelty free service, so I'm going to do my best to research and try to see what is cruelty free. It seems like this month's was entirely cruelty free (with the exception of my free gift of the Clinique). As always, check for yourself as I'm human. :)

Here's what I received in February's bag!

Ipsy Pink Pouch with Lip Print // I don't really need any more makeup bags, so this will likely be gifted to someone.

Meech N Mia Pressed Eyeshadow in Taupe // cruelty free // I was hoping for the taupe shade, but now that I have it I'm not sure how well it'll fit into my collection. It swatched a little purple, but that may just be me. I'm going to give it a shot, though!

Sand & Sky Australian Pink Clay Flash Perfection Exfoliating Treatment // cruelty free // I'm all about some skin care and I've heard good things about this.

Pixi by Petra Glow Tonic // cruelty free // I've been wanting to try this so badly and I'm so glad I got a sample! I'm going to use this up in place of my normal toner and see how it works.

Kokie Cosmetics Be Bright Illuminating Concealer in Light // cruelty free // I really like the striped top and doe foot applicator. Hopefully it doesn't come out too light for me.

Belle En Argent Auteur Creme Lip Color in I'll Bring Dessert // cruelty free // This color is great! The formula seemed to apply smoothly when I swatched it.

Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey // not cruelty free // This was a free gift for signing up. It's not cruelty free so I'm not going to replace it once I use it up, but it's a nice color for the office.


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Friday, February 01, 2019

marshall's mini cruelty free haul

I stopped at Marshall's one day after work to pick up another dog bed for Tucker and perused the cosmetics aisle for a bit. Stores like Marshall's can have some really awesome finds, but you have to be careful and make sure the beauty products haven't been opened or swatched (because ew). I lucked out and picked up this Too Faced Melted Latex liquid lipstick in Hopeless Romantic for $5.99 and a Pacifica Cactus Revive Milk to Foam Face Wash for $4.99.
This lipstick is a gorgeous color and from how it performed on my arm, it has staying power. I had to use a lip color remover* to get it off completely after smearing it all over the place. It'll be a nice muted color for the office. I think the Latex line might be phasing out and the cleanser is discontinued, so snag the lipstick while you can!

Found anything good lately? ♥


frugal bandit blog | my poshmark closet | shop leggings | shop my mercari

Follow

lucky bandit is a for profit blog. I use affiliate links and paid advertisements. I may earn compensation for a click or purchase through a link. Paid (whether via product or monetary) reviews will be noted in the actual post. Though compensation may influence the type of posts, all opinions and reviews will be legitimate and honest.

*All affiliate links will be marked with an asterick.*

Friday, June 01, 2018

pacifica // crystal punk holographic mineral lip gloss

When I went to visit Kyle a few weeks ago, we stopped by the mall and walked around a bit. While in a store, he commented that he liked a lip gloss that a model was wearing in a photo. The store was out of that holographic gloss and wasn't cruelty free anyway, so I've been searching for a dupe since.

I found one! It's Pacifica's Crystal Punk Holographic Mineral Lip Gloss*. The one I ordered is called Cosmos and it's a sheer silver/blue top coat like gloss. Cosmos isn't the only color available, there's also the pinkish Spaced Out and a peachy Halo. Of course it's Pacifica brand, so it's cruelty free and 100% vegan. The great thing about this gloss is that is has a couple oils as ingredients; safflower, rose seed, and jojoba!

I'm excited to work this into my regular makeup routine!

Follow

Sunday, April 08, 2018

empties #16

Another month of digging through my little bin of empties. I like keeping these posts as a catalog of things I've tried. As always, be sure to double check cruelty free and vegan statuses! I do my best but I'm only human. ♥
e.l.f. Acne Fighting Foundation* in Porcelain // cruelty free & vegan // I've purchased this a few times. I've found no evidence that it fights acne, but I don't have a lot to begin with. It's oxidised pretty quickly on me each time, so I won't be repurchasing.

Pacifica Kale Detox Face Wash* // cruelty free & vegan // I love this face wash. See the full review here.

Sephora Outrageous Volume Mascara travel size // I think I picked this up to get my birthday gift because it was cheap. The brush was weird and product got everywhere. I won't get this again.

Milani Ultra Fine Liquid Eyeliner // cruelty free // I've had this little tube since I started my CF journey forever ago. I'm decluttering this as liquid liner just isn't for me, thus I can't really even mini-review it.

Jason Sea Fresh Toothpaste // cruelty free & vegan // I really liked this. Here's the full review.

e.l.f. Eye Enhancing Mascara // cruelty free & vegan // I picked this up at Marshall's, so it's older packaging and they've since changed the brush. It was a nice, cheap little mascara that I'd buy again.

Montagne Jeunesse Strawberry Souffle Face Mask // cruelty free & vegan // This was a really creamy mask that I enjoyed. I think the travel sizes work better for me as I always have leftover product when I use the full size.

Albolene Eye Makeup Remover sample // cruelty free & vegan // From the research I did, this appears CF and vegan, however I haven't had a chance to contact the company yet. This was a nice little sample, but I wouldn't buy the full size.

Marc Jacobs Mod Noir sample // Not my style.
e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation* in Porcelain // cruelty free & vegan // This is my go-to foundation. It matches my skin nicely (I think? I still can't match foundation) and sits well on my face all day while not being heavy. I've already picked up another bottle.

got2b POWDERful Volumizing Style Powder // I've had this for what seems like forever. It's a little messy to apply (it is a loose powder after all) but it did work. However, got2b isn't cruelty free so I'm looking for an alternative.

The Body Shop Shower Gel in Smoky Poppy // cruelty free & vegan // I really like scents like this (Smoky Poppy, Peppered Citrus, etc) and this was a nice shower gel. This scent has been discontinued but I'd pick up more shower gel from The Body Shop.

Victoria's Secret Anti-Bacterial Gel in Amber Romance // No, no, no. This was a hand me down from a friend who wouldn't use it. I find most of VS's scents cloying and heavy, and this was no exception.

Pacifica Power of Love Natural Lipstick in Sweet One // I love Pacifica products and the formula for this lipstick is nice and creamy, but the dusty rose color ages me so I'm decluttering it.
Lush Tea Tree Water // cruelty free & vegan // I LOVED this. I used this as a toner and it worked really well with my skin and was easy to use in this spray bottle. Definitely ordering again.

L'Oreal Ever Pure Volume Shampoo // vegan // I received this in a VoxBox. L'Oreal touts their Ever Pure line as being vegan, and it is, ingredients wise. However, L'Oreal isn't cruelty free and I won't be buying a replacement.

Good Things Manuka Honey Body Scrub // cruelty free // I liked this scrub but it wasn't quite harsh enough for my exfoliation tastes. I also completely missed the giant HONEY on the front, so it's not vegan either. I'd pick up a different variety in their scrub line, though.

Pacifica Purify Facial Cleansing Wipes* // cruelty free & vegan // Can you tell I like Pacifica? These smelled amazing and worked well enough that I'd buy them again. They're really handy for traveling.
All of these items are decluttering items.

OPI Nail Lacquer in You Don't Know Jacques // I've always loved this color, but found a cruelty free and vegan dupe for it at a much smaller price point.

e.l.f. Maximum Coverage Concealer in Porcelain // cruelty free & vegan // I tried to make this concealer work. The product itself is nice and applies well, it just settled into the fine lines under my eyes really badly.

e.l.f. Moisturizing Lipstick in Coral Cutie // cruelty free & vegan // Coral lipstick washes me out. Badly. Sad to see this go, but I can't pull it off.

e.l.f. Exact Lash Mascara // cruelty free & vegan // This sounds like a good idea. A tiny little brush where you can put mascara on individual lashes. It's really not a good idea. You can't really get enough mascara on the stiff brush to transfer it to your lashes. A swing and a miss.

e.l.f. Liquid Eyeliner // cruelty free & vegan // Like I said above, liquid eyeliner isn't my thing. More power to you if it's yours, though!

e.l.f. Eyeshadow Palette // This was a complete eye palette for all parts of your eye. The shadows didn't have amazing color pay off and the fallout, oh my goodness. I'm far better off using my Shiro loose eyeshadows with fallout than these that take ten years to build color. Sorry, e.l.f., this didn't work for me.

(Backdrop is an adorable head wrap my mom gave me from Old Navy.)

And there's another post of mini reviews. What have you used up lately? Send me some links in the comments!

Follow

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

pacifica // kale detox face wash

I've tried a lot of face washes and cleansers and  I can say that I love Pacifica's Kale Detox. I've gotten two travel sizes in sets from my mom, which is where this one came from, and I've got a full size waiting in the wings (also from my mom...she keeps me stocked with Pacifica products).

Kale Detox is a smooth gel face wash that is a cheery green but has some great cleansing power. It smells very earthy and, well, kale like. I'm one of those people that scrubs their eye makeup off with cleanser, which this does nicely, without drying out my skin or irritating around my eyes.

At ten dollars for five ounces, the price isn't bad at all. I've found this in person at Target and Ulta, so it's pretty readily available, along with being available at several online retailers.

Follow

Friday, October 20, 2017

mini e.l.f. haul

Last week I took advantage of e.l.f.'s one day offering of free shipping and picked up the Moisturizing Foundation Stick in Ivory and the All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige. I've been growing more bored with my cream foundations, so I thought I'd try something new.
This was my first time trying a stick foundation and I have to say I expected it to be a lot drier. This foundation spread well, is buildable, and clearly has moisturizing tendencies. The cover stick was creamy and I think it'll work well on my undereyes.

Have you tried anything from e.l.f. lately? If not, join the Beauty Squad and use this  $5 coupon*!

Follow

Friday, September 29, 2017

maple holistics // tea tree shampoo

**I was compensated for this post by receiving a free product to review from Maple Holistics. This review is my own honest opinion.

Recently I was contacted by Maple Holistics to see if I was interested in trying their Tea Tree Shampoo. Not only is Maple Holistics cruelty free, this product is vegan, paraben free, GMO free, and gluten free. The ingredients list for the Tea Tree Shampoo was short and to the point. I've been wanting to try a tea tree line as I have eczema and an itchy scalp, so I jumped at the chance.

The Tea Tree Shampoo combines jojoba, tea tree, rosemary, and lavender to combat dandruff, regulate oil secretions, and clear away blemishes on the scalp. You simply wet your hair with warm water, apply the shampoo and let it sit for a few minutes after massaging it into your scalp, then rinse with cool water.

I don't wash my hair every day, so I've used this shampoo twice since receiving it. I'm impressed already - I've noticed my scalp being significantly less itchy and my eczema spots are less red and noticeable! My hair felt softer and smoother after one shampoo, unlike many shampoos that leave my hair with that straw like feeling. I've definitely found my scalp to be responding well to this and I believe I may have found a new go to shampoo.

Try it for yourself here or try a sample of their other products here!

Follow

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

empties #14

Since it's been summer, I haven't been using many products up. I hardly wear makeup unless it's planned, so my makeup has just been sitting there. Sorry, pretty things.


Dove Advanced Care Deodorant  // I didn't care for this. It didn't work for me.

Theraneem Naturals Skin Lotion in Neem Therape* // cruelty free & vegan // This lotion helped with my eczema and was pretty rich. I'm going to add a full size to my next iHerb order.

Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera* // cruelty free & vegan // It's aloe vera. I don't know why I even had this bottle, but I'd buy this brand again if I needed it.

Alba Botanica Body in the Buff Firming Scrub in Espresso* // cruelty free & vegan // This scrub was great and the coffee was a great plus. It wasn't oily like some sugar scrubs, and it rinsed out of the tub fairly well. My skin felt a lot softer after using it.

Simple Pleasures Hand Soap in Summer Peach // I didn't think I'd ever finish this. This was a $1 purchase at Joann Fabrics when I thought I was out, but I'll be replacing this with something cruelty free.

Good Things Fresh Start Creamy Cleanser // cruelty free & vegan // I grabbed this on a whim at Marshall's one day because the ingredients looked decent. It was an alright cleanser. I'm beginning to think that cream cleansers aren't my thing, though, but if I found this at a cheap enough price I'd pick it up as a backup.

e.l.f. Volumizing Mascara* // cruelty free & vegan // This is the cheapest mascara e.l.f. offers. I pick them up religiously to use as a base coat for my other mascaras. It's a decent product, doesn't get all over my eyelids and doesn't flake.

Madre Labs Rose Petal Witch Hazel // cruelty free & vegan // I used this as a toner and really liked it. Sadly, it's been discontinued.

e.l.f. Pressed Powder in Buff* (similar) // cruelty free & vegan // I didn't like this and it broke all to pieces, as e.l.f. powders seem to do when I have them. I wouldn't repurchase.

Avalon Organics Bath & Shower Gel* in Grapefruit and Geranium // cruelty free & vegan // This bottle lasted forever and I really liked it. I got a few compliments on the smell, too! They've since changed their packaging and this scent has been discontinued, but I'd try some of their others.

Vegan True Melatonin* // vegan // This is my go to melatonin. Definitely already in my iHerb cart.

Not Pictured:
Gilette Fusion Hydra Gel Shaving Gel // I'm still using up shaving cream from my years of couponing. I won't buy it again, but it's been nice having a supply of shave gel.

Up & Up Biotin plus Keratin // I suppose these worked, but I picked up a different brand.

Dial NutriSkin Lotion // A decent lotion from the coupon stash, I won't pick it up again.

Jergens Ultra Healing Hand Moisturizer // Meh. I still have like six of these that I'm using up. I'll be glad when they're gone.

And there's another month of digging through my trash. Hurrah!

Follow

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: jane iredale pure & simple makeup kit

I received this Jane Iredale VoxBox complimentary of Influenster for testing purposes.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I hadn't heard of Jane Iredale before I received the survey email from Influenster to see if I was eligible for their VoxBox, but when I did a little research on the brand I liked what I saw. I received the Pure & Simple Makeup Kit in medium light.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Jane Iredale is Leaping Bunny and PETA certified cruelty free, they have many vegan products, and check out those great pigments! I've never used powder foundation before, so I'm excited to try it. The kit came with two PurePressed Base Mineral Foundations in Amber and Radiant (vegan), a PurePressed Blush in Sheer Honey (vegan), two PurePressed Eye Shadows in Oyster and Supernova (vegan), a Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Peach (not vegan), and a dual ended eye brush and blush brush. I'm going to pass the lip and cheek stain on to Jess so it doesn't get wasted. :)

I can't wait to work these into my daily makeup routine!

Follow

Thursday, May 11, 2017

empties #13 & some decluttering

It's been a while since I've rounded up all of my empties, but here's another go with some mini reviews. I've included some decluttered items that I'm just not going to end up finishing. I never realized just how many non cruelty free and non vegan products I had until I started using them up and replacing them with kinder products.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Suave Invisible Solid Deodorant in Powder // I don't know where these things keep coming from, but I'm still going through them. Haha.

Yes to Tomatoes Acne Control Gel Cleanser // cruelty free & vegan // This worked really well when I first got it, my face cleared up, and then I just used it occasionally as a cleanser. I'd get this again to control redness and blemishes, if I needed it. I believe this has been discontinued, but they have tons of good looking cleansers in the Tomatoes line.

Biore Baking Soda Acne Scrub // This was an alright cleanser sample, but Biore isn't cruelty free.

KenetMD Shampoo & Conditioner // These were hotel bottles from when I met my mom halfway for a girl's night. The conditioner was pretty nice, but the shampoo made my hair a little dry. I can't find any cruelty free status for them, though.

Carmex Pomegranate Lip Balm // I've had this tube for forever and finally finished it. Carmex isn't vegan or cruelty free, unfortunately.

Victoria's Secret Pink Body Mist // This little bottle is sooo old. VS isn't cruelty free, so even though the scent was nice, I won't repurchase.

Secret Body Spray in Citrus Breeze // I got this little bottle in my stocking for Christmas, and I liked it, but it's not cruelty free.

Dial NutriSkin Replenishing Lotion // Finally finished up the last of these that I got free forever ago with coupons. I won't get this again.

Palmer's Cocoa Butter* // cruelty free // I liked this lotion, but sometimes it was just too thick, and I can't verify if it's vegan or not.

Ulta Mattifying Balm* // cruelty free & vegan // When I first bought this I wasn't sure how to use it, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly. I really like this stuff! It could also double as a primer and worked nicely at mattifying. I'm definitely getting this again!

Mary Kay Foundation Primer Sunscreen // This was a decent primer. However, MK isn't cruelty free.

Estee Lauder Foundation Sample in Pure Beige 2C // EL isn't cruelty free and this sample that I got from a friend wasn't a good color match, so I'm glad to be rid of it.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

NatureMade Magnesium Supplements // These may not be vegan and I now have a different actually vegan supplement now.

Dove Deep Moisture Body Wash // I got this little sample and got quite a few uses out of it, but unfortunately, Dove isn't cruelty free.

Up & Up Biotin Supplements // Another supplement that I'm not sure is vegan, but I believe it is? I need to do some more research on these supplements.

Bynature Textured Waves Sea Salt Spray in Coconut // This spray isn't bad! I like it. It has an odd smell, but it works well. I just need to contact the company for CF status.

Aveeno Gentle Scent Lotion in Nourishing Coconut // Another little sample I used up to get it out of here. A decent lotion, but Aveeno tests on animals. :(

Charcoal Sculpting Mask // This mask came in a cup that you added water to, and it made SO MUCH MASK. I spread it on way too thickly and still could've had four more masks out of the cup, but had no way to preserve the rest of the mix. I wouldn't buy this again.

The Beer Soap Co. Blue Ribbon Bar Soap // cruelty free & vegan // Beer soap? Yup! My boss gave me this bar that's made with PBR. It's a pretty nice soap and I might order a couple different things, like the American Hops or the Karma Deodorant.

Palmer's Coconut Oil Facial Moisturizer // cruelty free // I've been looking for a new moisturizer, so when I got this sample I was thinking it might work, but it burned when I put it on. Sad face.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

L'Oreal Voluminous Primer in White Primer & Original Mascara in Blackest Black // I did not like either of these products. I got them in an Influenster VoxBox. The formula got better as it dried out a bit, but it was globby and cakey and just bad. Do not recommend.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Glade candles & Dollar General Candle // More things I decluttered that were sitting around the house for forever. I wouldn't get any of these again.

Now on to my decluttering items:

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Here's some items that I just didn't like enough to finish. I hate throwing out product, but I know I won't finish these and they're just taking up space in my super small bathroom. I won't be getting any of these again.

Rimmel 60 Seconds Polish in Hot Black to Go // I've had this for years and it made my nails look funny and it's separated, so it goes.

Estee Lauder Mirror // I don't generally use compacts while out and about, so I'm tossing this.

Covergirl Makeup Remover // Hate, hate, hate, double hate, loathe entirely. This was greasy as all get out, required a lot to remove simple mascara, and gave me blurry eye if it got into my eyes.

Julep Polish in Helen 2339 // cruelty free & vegan // This separated and I couldn't get it to mix again.

Milani Color Statement Polish in Cupcake Icing // cruelty free // I liked this polish! It just separated on me.

Revlon Colorstay Eye Shadow Mini Palette in Nude Elements // These shadows didn't transfer color well and the colors were wonky. The darkest color was more of a purple than a neutral color.

Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Polish in Gone Grey // Another that separated.

That was quite the group of products. What have you used up lately?

Follow

Monday, April 17, 2017

indie blends: breathe in collection // perfume sample review

Indie Blends invited me to try out three of their perfumes. When I got the box in the mail, I was so excited! All of their products are cruelty free and vegan, and made in small, handcrafted batches. The packaging really stood out as well and it was a bright and fun box to open.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received three samples - one each of Inspiration, Love, and Strength. I love the packaging and inspirational cards that each is on. All three have different floral tones and they were light and fresh and perfect for spring.

Not only do I like how upbeat the branding is, Indie Blends is on a great mission and I really love that their products are formulated without parabens and phthalates! I'll be ordering Strength soon!

Follow

Saturday, March 11, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: marc jacobs beauty highliner

Recently I received the Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner VoxBox! Influenster sent me the box to try out some new products.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received two Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Matte Gel Eye Crayons* in the colors Pink of Me and (Earth)Quake. These eyeliners retail for $25, so I was really glad to get them! They're super pigmented and go on so smoothly.

Pink of Me is on the left, which is a light pink, and (Earth)Quake is on the right, which is a deep brown and the color I would buy.  I don't know how much wear I'll get out of the light pink, but I'll use the deep brown every day. They state they last twelve hours and it took some scrubbing to get the swatches off, so I'll be putting them to the test here soon!

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Have you tried anything new lately?

Follow

Friday, October 28, 2016

shiro cosmetics haul: harry potter!

Guys!!!!!! Harry Potter themed makeup that's vegan and cruelty free. How could I not??

On the day I read this Allure article (more like as soon as I finished it), I went straight over and bought some items from Shiro Cosmetic's Marauders, Mugwumps, and Muggles line.

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

I ordered the The Boy Who Lived eyeshadow, a charcoal with flecks of gold and red undertones, in full size which features label art, the Butterbeer gloss, and a couple samples, He Who Must Not Be Named and Too Big to Be Allowed. I also received two free samples (!!), Too Old, Too Poor, Too Dangerous, and Metamorphmagus.

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

I can't wait to incorporate these into my daily beauty routine. Shiro has loads of colors to try out for everyone's fandom. You can even buy one of each eyeshadow. Sample bags are only a dollar, and you can sample pretty much everything.

Definitely go check them out!

Follow
^