lucky bandit: beauty review
Showing posts with label beauty review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label beauty review. Show all posts

Friday, October 20, 2017

mini e.l.f. haul

Last week I took advantage of e.l.f.'s one day offering of free shipping and picked up the Moisturizing Foundation Stick in Ivory and the All Over Cover Stick in Apricot Beige. I've been growing more bored with my cream foundations, so I thought I'd try something new.
This was my first time trying a stick foundation and I have to say I expected it to be a lot drier. This foundation spread well, is buildable, and clearly has moisturizing tendencies. The cover stick was creamy and I think it'll work well on my undereyes.

Have you tried anything from e.l.f. lately? If not, join the Beauty Squad and use this  $5 coupon*!

Follow

Friday, September 29, 2017

maple holistics // tea tree shampoo

**I was compensated for this post by receiving a free product to review from Maple Holistics. This review is my own honest opinion.

Recently I was contacted by Maple Holistics to see if I was interested in trying their Tea Tree Shampoo. Not only is Maple Holistics cruelty free, this product is vegan, paraben free, GMO free, and gluten free. The ingredients list for the Tea Tree Shampoo was short and to the point. I've been wanting to try a tea tree line as I have eczema and an itchy scalp, so I jumped at the chance.

The Tea Tree Shampoo combines jojoba, tea tree, rosemary, and lavender to combat dandruff, regulate oil secretions, and clear away blemishes on the scalp. You simply wet your hair with warm water, apply the shampoo and let it sit for a few minutes after massaging it into your scalp, then rinse with cool water.

I don't wash my hair every day, so I've used this shampoo twice since receiving it. I'm impressed already - I've noticed my scalp being significantly less itchy and my eczema spots are less red and noticeable! My hair felt softer and smoother after one shampoo, unlike many shampoos that leave my hair with that straw like feeling. I've definitely found my scalp to be responding well to this and I believe I may have found a new go to shampoo.

Try it for yourself here or try a sample of their other products here!

Follow

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

empties #14

Since it's been summer, I haven't been using many products up. I hardly wear makeup unless it's planned, so my makeup has just been sitting there. Sorry, pretty things.


Dove Advanced Care Deodorant  // I didn't care for this. It didn't work for me.

Theraneem Naturals Skin Lotion in Neem Therape* // cruelty free & vegan // This lotion helped with my eczema and was pretty rich. I'm going to add a full size to my next iHerb order.

Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera* // cruelty free & vegan // It's aloe vera. I don't know why I even had this bottle, but I'd buy this brand again if I needed it.

Alba Botanica Body in the Buff Firming Scrub in Espresso* // cruelty free & vegan // This scrub was great and the coffee was a great plus. It wasn't oily like some sugar scrubs, and it rinsed out of the tub fairly well. My skin felt a lot softer after using it.

Simple Pleasures Hand Soap in Summer Peach // I didn't think I'd ever finish this. This was a $1 purchase at Joann Fabrics when I thought I was out, but I'll be replacing this with something cruelty free.

Good Things Fresh Start Creamy Cleanser // cruelty free & vegan // I grabbed this on a whim at Marshall's one day because the ingredients looked decent. It was an alright cleanser. I'm beginning to think that cream cleansers aren't my thing, though, but if I found this at a cheap enough price I'd pick it up as a backup.

e.l.f. Volumizing Mascara* // cruelty free & vegan // This is the cheapest mascara e.l.f. offers. I pick them up religiously to use as a base coat for my other mascaras. It's a decent product, doesn't get all over my eyelids and doesn't flake.

Madre Labs Rose Petal Witch Hazel // cruelty free & vegan // I used this as a toner and really liked it. Sadly, it's been discontinued.

e.l.f. Pressed Powder in Buff* (similar) // cruelty free & vegan // I didn't like this and it broke all to pieces, as e.l.f. powders seem to do when I have them. I wouldn't repurchase.

Avalon Organics Bath & Shower Gel* in Grapefruit and Geranium // cruelty free & vegan // This bottle lasted forever and I really liked it. I got a few compliments on the smell, too! They've since changed their packaging and this scent has been discontinued, but I'd try some of their others.

Vegan True Melatonin* // vegan // This is my go to melatonin. Definitely already in my iHerb cart.

Not Pictured:
Gilette Fusion Hydra Gel Shaving Gel // I'm still using up shaving cream from my years of couponing. I won't buy it again, but it's been nice having a supply of shave gel.

Up & Up Biotin plus Keratin // I suppose these worked, but I picked up a different brand.

Dial NutriSkin Lotion // A decent lotion from the coupon stash, I won't pick it up again.

Jergens Ultra Healing Hand Moisturizer // Meh. I still have like six of these that I'm using up. I'll be glad when they're gone.

And there's another month of digging through my trash. Hurrah!

Follow

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: jane iredale pure & simple makeup kit

I received this Jane Iredale VoxBox complimentary of Influenster for testing purposes.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I hadn't heard of Jane Iredale before I received the survey email from Influenster to see if I was eligible for their VoxBox, but when I did a little research on the brand I liked what I saw. I received the Pure & Simple Makeup Kit in medium light.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Jane Iredale is Leaping Bunny and PETA certified cruelty free, they have many vegan products, and check out those great pigments! I've never used powder foundation before, so I'm excited to try it. The kit came with two PurePressed Base Mineral Foundations in Amber and Radiant (vegan), a PurePressed Blush in Sheer Honey (vegan), two PurePressed Eye Shadows in Oyster and Supernova (vegan), a Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain in Forever Peach (not vegan), and a dual ended eye brush and blush brush. I'm going to pass the lip and cheek stain on to Jess so it doesn't get wasted. :)

I can't wait to work these into my daily makeup routine!

Follow

Thursday, May 11, 2017

empties #13 & some decluttering

It's been a while since I've rounded up all of my empties, but here's another go with some mini reviews. I've included some decluttered items that I'm just not going to end up finishing. I never realized just how many non cruelty free and non vegan products I had until I started using them up and replacing them with kinder products.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Suave Invisible Solid Deodorant in Powder // I don't know where these things keep coming from, but I'm still going through them. Haha.

Yes to Tomatoes Acne Control Gel Cleanser // cruelty free & vegan // This worked really well when I first got it, my face cleared up, and then I just used it occasionally as a cleanser. I'd get this again to control redness and blemishes, if I needed it. I believe this has been discontinued, but they have tons of good looking cleansers in the Tomatoes line.

Biore Baking Soda Acne Scrub // This was an alright cleanser sample, but Biore isn't cruelty free.

KenetMD Shampoo & Conditioner // These were hotel bottles from when I met my mom halfway for a girl's night. The conditioner was pretty nice, but the shampoo made my hair a little dry. I can't find any cruelty free status for them, though.

Carmex Pomegranate Lip Balm // I've had this tube for forever and finally finished it. Carmex isn't vegan or cruelty free, unfortunately.

Victoria's Secret Pink Body Mist // This little bottle is sooo old. VS isn't cruelty free, so even though the scent was nice, I won't repurchase.

Secret Body Spray in Citrus Breeze // I got this little bottle in my stocking for Christmas, and I liked it, but it's not cruelty free.

Dial NutriSkin Replenishing Lotion // Finally finished up the last of these that I got free forever ago with coupons. I won't get this again.

Palmer's Cocoa Butter* // cruelty free // I liked this lotion, but sometimes it was just too thick, and I can't verify if it's vegan or not.

Ulta Mattifying Balm* // cruelty free & vegan // When I first bought this I wasn't sure how to use it, but I got the hang of it pretty quickly. I really like this stuff! It could also double as a primer and worked nicely at mattifying. I'm definitely getting this again!

Mary Kay Foundation Primer Sunscreen // This was a decent primer. However, MK isn't cruelty free.

Estee Lauder Foundation Sample in Pure Beige 2C // EL isn't cruelty free and this sample that I got from a friend wasn't a good color match, so I'm glad to be rid of it.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

NatureMade Magnesium Supplements // These may not be vegan and I now have a different actually vegan supplement now.

Dove Deep Moisture Body Wash // I got this little sample and got quite a few uses out of it, but unfortunately, Dove isn't cruelty free.

Up & Up Biotin Supplements // Another supplement that I'm not sure is vegan, but I believe it is? I need to do some more research on these supplements.

Bynature Textured Waves Sea Salt Spray in Coconut // This spray isn't bad! I like it. It has an odd smell, but it works well. I just need to contact the company for CF status.

Aveeno Gentle Scent Lotion in Nourishing Coconut // Another little sample I used up to get it out of here. A decent lotion, but Aveeno tests on animals. :(

Charcoal Sculpting Mask // This mask came in a cup that you added water to, and it made SO MUCH MASK. I spread it on way too thickly and still could've had four more masks out of the cup, but had no way to preserve the rest of the mix. I wouldn't buy this again.

The Beer Soap Co. Blue Ribbon Bar Soap // cruelty free & vegan // Beer soap? Yup! My boss gave me this bar that's made with PBR. It's a pretty nice soap and I might order a couple different things, like the American Hops or the Karma Deodorant.

Palmer's Coconut Oil Facial Moisturizer // cruelty free // I've been looking for a new moisturizer, so when I got this sample I was thinking it might work, but it burned when I put it on. Sad face.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

L'Oreal Voluminous Primer in White Primer & Original Mascara in Blackest Black // I did not like either of these products. I got them in an Influenster VoxBox. The formula got better as it dried out a bit, but it was globby and cakey and just bad. Do not recommend.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Glade candles & Dollar General Candle // More things I decluttered that were sitting around the house for forever. I wouldn't get any of these again.

Now on to my decluttering items:

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Here's some items that I just didn't like enough to finish. I hate throwing out product, but I know I won't finish these and they're just taking up space in my super small bathroom. I won't be getting any of these again.

Rimmel 60 Seconds Polish in Hot Black to Go // I've had this for years and it made my nails look funny and it's separated, so it goes.

Estee Lauder Mirror // I don't generally use compacts while out and about, so I'm tossing this.

Covergirl Makeup Remover // Hate, hate, hate, double hate, loathe entirely. This was greasy as all get out, required a lot to remove simple mascara, and gave me blurry eye if it got into my eyes.

Julep Polish in Helen 2339 // cruelty free & vegan // This separated and I couldn't get it to mix again.

Milani Color Statement Polish in Cupcake Icing // cruelty free // I liked this polish! It just separated on me.

Revlon Colorstay Eye Shadow Mini Palette in Nude Elements // These shadows didn't transfer color well and the colors were wonky. The darkest color was more of a purple than a neutral color.

Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Polish in Gone Grey // Another that separated.

That was quite the group of products. What have you used up lately?

Follow

Monday, April 17, 2017

indie blends: breathe in collection // perfume sample review

Indie Blends invited me to try out three of their perfumes. When I got the box in the mail, I was so excited! All of their products are cruelty free and vegan, and made in small, handcrafted batches. The packaging really stood out as well and it was a bright and fun box to open.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received three samples - one each of Inspiration, Love, and Strength. I love the packaging and inspirational cards that each is on. All three have different floral tones and they were light and fresh and perfect for spring.

Not only do I like how upbeat the branding is, Indie Blends is on a great mission and I really love that their products are formulated without parabens and phthalates! I'll be ordering Strength soon!

Follow

Saturday, March 11, 2017

influenster voxbox unboxing: marc jacobs beauty highliner

Recently I received the Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner VoxBox! Influenster sent me the box to try out some new products.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I received two Marc Jacobs Beauty Highliner Matte Gel Eye Crayons* in the colors Pink of Me and (Earth)Quake. These eyeliners retail for $25, so I was really glad to get them! They're super pigmented and go on so smoothly.

Pink of Me is on the left, which is a light pink, and (Earth)Quake is on the right, which is a deep brown and the color I would buy.  I don't know how much wear I'll get out of the light pink, but I'll use the deep brown every day. They state they last twelve hours and it took some scrubbing to get the swatches off, so I'll be putting them to the test here soon!

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Have you tried anything new lately?

Follow

Friday, October 28, 2016

shiro cosmetics haul: harry potter!

Guys!!!!!! Harry Potter themed makeup that's vegan and cruelty free. How could I not??

On the day I read this Allure article (more like as soon as I finished it), I went straight over and bought some items from Shiro Cosmetic's Marauders, Mugwumps, and Muggles line.

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

I ordered the The Boy Who Lived eyeshadow, a charcoal with flecks of gold and red undertones, in full size which features label art, the Butterbeer gloss, and a couple samples, He Who Must Not Be Named and Too Big to Be Allowed. I also received two free samples (!!), Too Old, Too Poor, Too Dangerous, and Metamorphmagus.

shiro cosmetics haul lucky bandit blog

I can't wait to incorporate these into my daily beauty routine. Shiro has loads of colors to try out for everyone's fandom. You can even buy one of each eyeshadow. Sample bags are only a dollar, and you can sample pretty much everything.

Definitely go check them out!

Follow

Saturday, October 15, 2016

cruelty free dupe: pacifica vs. opi

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Now, most dupe posts are for the cost side of things. I'm all for a cheap dupe when it comes to beauty. However, this post is for a different reason - animal testing!

OPI is not cruelty free, as they sell in China. Years ago a friend bought me a bottle of my favorite color: You Don't Know Jacques. I love the brown/grey because it can be worn with anything! However, my bottle is almost to the point of being gunky. Of course I love the color, but I won't buy another bottle since they test on animals.

I went on the hunt for a similar color, but was having trouble finding it. I don't like to buy polish online since I can't see the color in person, so I took off to Ulta. My local store carries quite the selection of Pacifica polishes, so I thought my efforts may be fruitful.

Success! I found Pacifica's Beach Wood to be a wonderful color match AND 100% vegan and cruelty free! Not only that, but Pacifica's brand is a whole dollar cheaper, with no nasty chemicals, animal products, or hurt bunnies. ♥

Follow

Friday, September 16, 2016

tarte rainforest of the sea samples review

Back in April, I sent out an order to Sephora for a couple items. The Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Make A Splash Skin Savers collection was one of them. Honestly, I just ordered this because it was cruelty free and vegan and I needed something to get my birthday gift and samples, but I had no idea I'd end up loving the products inside!

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

The kit came with the Deep Dive Cleansing Gel, Marine Boosting 4-in-1 Mist, and the Drink of H2O Hydrating Boost Moisturizer. It took me a while to finish them, but I don't like to review something until I've used most of it. One use isn't going to tell me a lot, is it?

I'm still perplexed by the name. Rainforest of the Sea? What? But the packaging and color scheme of this collection is on point. It's relaxing, but eye catching.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Now, onto the products!

The Deep Dive Cleansing Gel was nice. My skin felt fresh when I'd finished using it, but not dried out. It wasn't sticky, felt smooth on my face, and generated a little lather.

Now the Drink of H2O Hydrating Boost Moisturizer? It's got a long name but this stuff is fantastic. A lot of moisturizers I've tried felt like they were just sitting on my skin until they dried, but Drink of H2O soaked in well and my skin felt hydrated. There also weren't any shiny after effects!

The Marine Boosting 4-in-1 Mist was a new product type for me. It's supposed to be a moisturizer/primer/setting mist all in one. I was really unsure of how to use this, but I settled with spritzing it on after my toner and before my makeup. It worked well as a primer, and my skin didn't feel dried out. I don't think it'd keep anything in place if I was sweating, but for an average day I was happy with it.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

All three of these items are cruelty free and listed as vegan friendly on Tarte's website. Win!

Overall? I'd definitely buy each of these individually in full sizes. They're all pretty solid products. I'm definitely interested in trying out other items from the Rainforest of the Sea collection.

Follow

Thursday, September 08, 2016

review: lush sex bomb bath bomb

 lush review lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

I picked up the Sex Bomb bath bomb from Lush a while ago, but I've finally found time to use it!

 lush review lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

This was my first bath bomb from Lush. I had tried other bombs from other places and I was not impressed. I dropped this baby into the tub and it instantly started foaming. Check out that gorgeous magenta!

It was really relaxing and my skin felt moisturized and smooth both during and after the bath. I can't smell, so I can't attest to if the bomb retained any scent, but it fizzed slowly and hung around for a while.

I'd heard complaints of the decorative flower not dissolving, but the one in my bomb was nowhere to be found afterwards, so I had no cleanup as there wasn't any residue left after I drained the water. That was a big plus as other bombs have dyed my tub red!

I'd definitely get another Sex Bomb!

Follow

Friday, September 02, 2016

my latest beauty favorites

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Swissco Ultimate Vent Brush in Large // Hairbrushes have never been a thing of importance to me. They keep my long ass hair from becoming a matted mess, but beyond that? Nah. Growing up I used paddle brushes and there was that one time my cousin got a round brush so tangled in my hair it had to be cut out, but other than that I never put any thought into how I brushed my hair. UNTIL NOW! Swissco's Ultimate Vent Brush is AMAZING! I no longer look at hairbrushes the same.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Pacifica's Indian Coconut Nectar Roll On Perfume  // So good. I feel like I'm on a tropical island when I use this. It comes in a glass vial, so I'm a little hesitant to carry it in my purse, but I love it.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

Hurraw Lip Balm in Grapefruit // I don't like eating grapefruit, but I love them in everything else. Luckily I can get Hurraw at my local Wegman's, and this stuff is awesome. It covers well without being heavy or sticky.

lucky bandit blog katelyn carter

The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion // I have dark spots from acne and this lotion really helps lighten them and even out my complexion. I use it at night after I cleanse and before I moisturize. I can see a difference in a few days and that's awesome compared to the many other dark spot correcting products I've used.

I'd love to know your favorites - leave your links in the comments! ♥

Follow

Sunday, January 24, 2016

ModFamily Stash It Toiletry Bag Review #StashIt


I received a ModFamily Stash It toiletry bag at a discount in exchange for this review.
Opinions are my own.

The great folks over at ModFamily sent me a coupon code to get a deep discount on their Stash It toiletry bag. I was pretty excited - I'm one of those people that has one bag that all of my makeup goes into, and I have to dig through it to find something. So when I saw the concept of their Stash It bag, I couldn't wait to try it out.

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

The bag is 100% polyester, so you can toss it in the wash or wipe it clean with a cloth if you need to. It opens completely up with the help of a drawstring, no outer zippers, and it gives you complete access to everything with a 21" diameter. It even has a little lip to prevent things from rolling off the mat. There are a couple bungee straps in the center to corral items, along with a small interior pocket that's zippered for valuables. (Some of those lipsticks are expensive, phew!)

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

modfamily stash it bag lucky bandit blog

I'll start with what I loved about the bag: I could find everything I needed easily. All my makeup, brushes, and face products were laid out in front of me. It was easy to draw the bag up and have everything in one place. I could put my toner, face wash, and more all in there. I tried it out with a few of my every day products, but I could easily fit a long trip's worth of products in there.

However, the bag didn't offer a ton of protection for my items. It's made more for toiletries; bottles that won't mind getting jostled around. It'd be perfect for things like face wash, body wash, and the like. I wouldn't put brushes in there if they're not in a wrap. It also takes up quite a bit of space. You'll need a large counter to spread it out on to properly use it.

I'd highly recommend ordering a Stash It bag. It has infinite uses - makeup, toiletries, small toys, and you could even use it in the car for crayons and travel items! I can definitely see myself using this on a regular basis.

^